Switzerland's contribution to the enlarged EU

A tram in Olomouc
Switzerland is supporting public transport, for example, in the Czech Republic. © SECO

As part of its commitment to the enlarged European Union (EU), Switzerland is contributing CHF 1.302 billion to Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia. The projects in the countries that joined the EU in 2004 were completed in June 2017.

The enlargement contribution is supporting numerous projects in the countries that have joined the EU since 2004. This commitment contributes to the reduction of economic and social disparities within the EU. In this way, Switzerland is strengthening its relations with the EU as a whole and particularly with the newest member states.

Several federal agencies have taken on duties linked to the enlargement contribution. The Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC) and the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO) are responsible for the organisation and implementation of the enlargement contribution projects, while the Europe Division of the State Secretariat FDFA provides support in regard to Switzerland’s policy with the EU.