Discovering International Geneva

International Geneva offers various possibilities of guided tours and visits of its institutions and iconic buildings and places, including the following:

groupe étudiants
School class during a visit at the Palais des Nations © Sigfredo Haro

Palais des Nations

The Palais des Nations, at the heart of International Geneva, has been the UN's European headquarters since 1946. It functions as a global diplomatic conference centre and operational base for a wide range of economic, social and human rights activities.

Over 120,000 visitors take a tour of the Palais des Nations each year to learn about the work of the UN and UN Office at Geneva and the famous Human Rights Council Chamber.

 Visiting the Palais des Nations

ICRC Museum

Geneva is the birthplace of the Red Cross Movement  and the humanitarian capital of the world. Dedicated to the work of the Movement's founder Henry Dunant, the Interntional Museum of the Red Cross and Red Crescent provides a unique opportunity to delve into the history of humanitarian action. Situated opposite the Palais des Nations, a museum tour is a perfect way to learn about the work of International Geneva.

UNHCR Visitors' Centre

Geneva is also the global headquarters of the UN Refugee Agency (UNCHR). The UNHCR Visitors' Centre provides information on the plight of millions of refugees around the world and the agency's ongoing efforts to safeguard their rights and well-being. The Visitors' Centre, near the Palais des Nations, is one of the UN's most popular information centres, welcoming thousands of people from all over the world each year.

CERN

The European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN) is the world's largest particle physics laboratory and seeks to unlock the mysteries of the universe. CERN provides guided tours and permanent exhibitions, where you can explore the most important outstanding questions of modern physics, gain an understanding of the Higgs boson, and learn more about the organisation and the experiments conducted.

Visiting CERN

Guided tours for schools

The Foundation EDUKI seeks to promote education and raise young people's awareness about the work of international organisations and international cooperation. Its objective is to strengthen Switzerland's international standing and help establish lifelong links between international organisations and young people.

The EDUKI Foundation is in constant contact with international organisations and NGOs. It arranges visits, meetings and debates, provides information on various subjects, develops tools and supports activities created by or for school children and students.

Arranging visits, meetings or activities with EDUKI

 

 

 

Contact visits :

M. Samy Bensalem

Second Secretary

Permanent Mission of Switzerland to the UN

Media and communication

Rue de Varembé 9-11 / CP 194 1211 Geneva 20

Tel. +41 58 463 34 82

Mobile : +41 79 621 70 23

samy.bensalem @eda.admin.ch

 

Contact press and media :

Mme Paola Ceresetti

Spokesperson

Permanent Mission of Switzerland to the UN

Media and public relations

Rue de Varembé 9-11 / CP 1941211 Geneva 20

Tel. +41 58 482 24 23

Mobile : +41 79 240 19 18

paola.ceresetti@eda.admin.ch

Découverte de la Genève internationale

La Genève internationale offre une multitude de possibilités de visites au sein des institutions et des lieux symboliques qui la composent. Certains d’entre eux sont présentés ci-dessous.

groupe étudiants
Ecole en visite au Palais des Nations © Sigfredo Haro

Palais des Nations

Le Palais des Nations est le siège européen des Nations Unies depuis 1946 et le cœur de la Genève internationale. Il constitue un centre mondial de conférences diplomatiques et une base opérationnelle pour un grand nombre d’activités dans les domaines économique, social et des droits de l’homme. 

Plus de 120'000 visiteurs se rendent chaque année au Palais des Nations pour découvrir le travail de l’ONU et de son Office à Genève ainsi que la fameuse salle du Conseil des droits de l’homme.

 Visiter le Palais des Nations

Musée du CICR

Genève est le berceau du mouvement de la Croix-Rouge et capitale mondiale humanitaire. Consacré à l’œuvre d’Henry Dunant, fondateur du mouvement, le musée nternational de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant Rouge présente le sujet universel de l’action humanitaire et propose une expérience unique d’initiation à celle-ci. Situé en face du Palais des Nations, le musée offre une parfaite combinaison pour découvrir l’action de la Genève internationale.

Centre des visiteurs du Haut-Commissariat des Nations Unies pour les
réfugiés (HCR)

Genève est également le siège mondial de l’Agence des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés (HCR). Son Centre de visiteurs informe sur la situation des millions de réfugiés dans le monde et sur les efforts constants de l’Agence pour garantir leurs droits et leur bien-être. Situé devant le bâtiment du siège, il est l’un des centres d’information de l’ONU les plus populaires et accueille chaque année  des milliers de personnes venant du monde entier.

CERN

L’Organisation européenne pour la recherche nucléaire (CERN) est le plus grand laboratoire de physique au monde qui cherche à percer les mystères de l’Univers. À travers des visites guidées et expositions permanentes, le CERN vous invite à explorer les grandes questions de la physique contemporaine, comprendre le Boson de Higgs et découvrir davantage sur l’Organisation et ses expériences.

Visiter le CERN

Visites-découvertes pour les écoles

La Fondation Eduki a pour but de promouvoir l’éducation et la sensibilisation des jeunes au travail des organisations internationales et à la coopération internationale. Elle vise ainsi à conforter la vocation internationale de la Suisse et contribue à tisser un lien durable entre les organisations internationales et les jeunes.

En contact permanent avec les organisations internationales et non gouvernementales, ses activités consistent notamment à organiser des visites et rencontres – débats, développer des dossiers thématiques, expliquer et faire découvrir, développer des outils et soutenir des activités développées par ou pour les jeunes de toutes les classes suisses du niveau secondaire I et II.

Organiser une visite, une rencontre ou une activité avec EDUKI

 

 

 

 

Contact visites :

M. Samy Bensalem

Deuxième secrétaire

Mission permanente de la Suisse auprès de l’ONU

Médias et communication

Rue de Varembé 9-11 / CP 194 1211 Genève 20

Tél. +41 58 463 34 82

Mobile : +41 79 621 70 23

samy.bensalem @eda.admin.ch

 

Contact presse et médias :

Mme Paola Ceresetti

Porte-parole

Mission permanente de la Suisse auprès de l’ONU

Médias et relations publiques

Rue de Varembé 9-11 / CP 1941211 Genève 20

Tél. +41 58 482 24 23

Mobile : +41 79 240 19 18

paola.ceresetti@eda.admin.ch