Platforms for reflection and coordination

In order to exploit International Geneva’s potential for synergies, Switzerland has created a set of practical tools that includes platforms for coordination, reflection and cooperation with influential foreign think tanks. 

These platforms bring together the actors, ideas and know-how concentrated in International Geneva. They help create important stakeholder networks, develop, test and spread strategic ideas, and provide access to critical knowledge in their fields. Geneva’s links with those working “on the ground” means these platforms are regularly confronted with local realities and can incorporate first-hand experience gained in the field into their deliberations. 

They work to strengthen the international organisations’ effectiveness and provide the international community with ideas and potential solutions to the global challenges, which – in today’s hyperconnected world – have become transversal.

A platform: 

  • creates links between actors from the public and private sectors, civil society and the universities 

  • educates and trains the officers of the permanent missions or providing them with support in preparing large international conferences  

  • reports on the outcome of negotiations or events  

  • organises and facilitates meetings, debates, conferences, workshops and other events in innovative formats, for small or large groups, behind closed doors or in public 

  • produces and distributes publications and information bulletins (newsletters)

Plateformes de réflexion et de coordination

Afin d’exploiter le potentiel de synergies de la Genève internationale, la Suisse a créé des outils de travail tels que des plateformes de coordination, de réflexion et de collaboration avec des think tanks étrangers influents.

Ces plateformes permettent de faire converger les acteurs, les idées et les savoir-faire de la Genève internationale. Elles contribuent à la constitution de réseaux d’acteurs importants, développent, testent et diffusent des idées stratégiques ou donnent accès à des connaissances essentielles dans leurs domaines. Grâce au lien de Genève avec le "terrain", le travail des plateformes peut être alimenté par les expériences concrètes et permettre la confrontation régulière avec les réalités locales.  

Leurs travaux visent à  renforcer l’efficacité des organisations internationales et à offrir à la communauté internationale des idées et des propositions de solutions aux défis globaux qui, dans notre monde hyper-connecté, sont transversaux.

Une plateforme : 

  • met en lien des acteurs des secteurs publics et privés, de la société civile et du monde universitaire 

  • forme les délégués de missions permanentes ou leur apporte un soutien pour la préparation de grandes conférences internationales  

  • rapporte les résultats de négociations ou d’événements  

  • organise et anime des rencontres, débats, conférences, ateliers et autres événements dans des formats innovateurs, en cercles restreints ou larges, à huis-clos ou en public 

  • rédige et diffuse des publications et des bulletins d’information (newsletter)