Humanitarian affairs

Filipino children are gathered in front of a tent provided by the Swiss Humanitarian Aid
Filipino children are gathered in front of a tent provided by the Swiss Humanitarian Aid. © SDC

The Humanitarian Affairs Section of the Swiss permanent mission in Geneva represents the interests of Switzerland within the major humanitarian organisations based in Geneva. It defends the country's position on issues that are priorities for Switzerland and supports special initiatives.

As the world's humanitarian capital, Geneva provides a unique, favourable platform for the most important actors in the sector. Most major humanitarian organisations have established their main headquarters there: the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC), the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC), the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), the International Organization for Migration (IOM) and the United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNISDR). Others have a secondary headquarters there, for example the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA) and the United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF). A multitude of international NGOs are also based in Geneva.

The Humanitarian Affairs Section of the Permanent Mission of Switzerland to the United Nations Office and to the other international organisations in Geneva represents and safeguards the interests of Switzerland within these various organisations.

Its tasks are as follows:

  • Act as interface between all of the actors present in Geneva and the relevant Swiss federal authorities in the areas of humanitarian affairs and migration.
  • Participate in governing bodies and support groups of organisations of which Switzerland is a member.
  • Promote matters of priority to Switzerland in the humanitarian sector: international humanitarian law, protection for civilians in armed conflict, disaster risk reduction and improved humanitarian coordination.
  • Support the development of tools geared towards improving the quality of the emergency response.
  • Support special initiatives such as the Nansen initiative for the protection of people affected by disaster-induced cross-border displacement, or the joint Swiss-ICRC initiative to enhance respect for international humanitarian law.
  • Ensure Switzerland's active participation in current humanitarian processes such as the 32nd International Conference of the Red Cross and Red Crescent and the World Humanitarian Summit.

Affaires humanitaires

Filipino children are gathered in front of a tent provided by the Swiss Humanitarian Aid
Filipino children are gathered in front of a tent provided by the Swiss Humanitarian Aid © DDC

La section des affaires humanitaires de la Mission Permanente de la Suisse à Genève représente les intérêts de la Confédération dans les grandes organisations humanitaires établies à Genève. Elle y défend les thématiques prioritaires de la Suisse et soutient le lancement d’initiatives spéciales.

En tant que capitale mondiale de l’humanitaire, Genève offre une plateforme unique et privilégiée aux acteurs les plus importants de ce secteur. La plupart des grandes organisations humanitaires y ont établi leur siège principal: le Comité international de la Croix-Rouge (CICR), la Fédération Internationale des Sociétés de la Croix Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge (FICR), le Haut-Commissariat des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés (HCR), l’Organisation internationale pour les migrations (OIM), le Bureau des Nations Unies pour la réduction des risques de catastrophes (UNISDR). D’autres y ont installé un siège secondaire : le Bureau de la coordination des affaires humanitaires (OCHA), le Fonds des Nations Unies pour l'enfance (UNICEF). De très nombreuses organisations non gouvernementales internationales se sont également établies à Genève.

La section des affaires humanitaires de la Mission permanente de la Suisse auprès des Nations Unies et des autres organisations internationales à Genève représente et défend les intérêts de la Suisse dans ces différentes enceintes.

Ses tâches sont les suivantes:

  • Jouer le rôle d’interface entre l’ensemble des acteurs du domaine présents à Genève et les services de la Confédération compétents dans le domaine des affaires humanitaires et de la migration.
  • Participer aux organes de gouvernance ou aux groupes de soutien des organisations dont la Suisse est membre.
  • Promouvoir les thématiques prioritaires de la Confédération dans le secteur humanitaire: droit international humanitaire, protection des civils dans les conflits armés, réduction des risques de catastrophes et amélioration de la coordination humanitaire.
  • Soutenir le développement d’outils susceptibles d’améliorer la qualité de la réponse d’urgence
  • Soutenir le lancement d’initiatives spéciales comme l’initiative Nansen pour la protection des populations contraintes de fuir à l’étranger en raison de catastrophes naturelles et l’initiative conjointe de la Suisse et du CICR pour le renforcement du respect du droit international humanitaire.
  • Assurer une participation active de la Suisse dans les processus humanitaires mondiaux actuels tels que la 32ème Conférence internationale de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge ainsi que le Sommet humanitaire mondial.