Human rights in the context of the United Nations

Conference room of the Palais des Nations, UN, Geneva
The conference room at the Palais des Nations receives many key international figures. UN, Geneva. © FDFA, Presence Switzerland

The Human Rights Section of the Geneva Mission promotes and defends Switzerland's interests within the Human Rights Council and its subsidiary mechanisms, working closely with other states, the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights and representatives of civil society.

Human Rights Council

Through the Human Rights Section of its Geneva Mission, Switzerland participates actively in the work of the Human Rights Council – the Geneva-based intergovernmental body that is primarily responsible for promoting and protecting human rights at the United Nations. Comprising 47 members, the Council meets in regular session for a total of 10 weeks per year. It may also meet in extraordinary session, as and when necessary, in order to address urgent human rights violations. Working groups established by the Council in relation to a variety of topics meet over the remainder of the year. One of these groups is devoted to the Universal Periodic Review process – an innovative mechanism that involves regular reviews of all member states' human rights situations, resulting in recommendations to encourage governments to do more to protect and respect human rights in their respective countries.

Diplomatic initiatives and negotiations

Within the Human Rights Council, Switzerland develops diplomatic initiatives in relation to priority areas of its foreign policy, such as the death penalty, transitional justice, the promotion and protection of human rights in the context of peaceful protest, as well as the right to privacy in the digital age. Switzerland also plays an active role in negotiations on various human rights issues and situations that are the subject of initiatives by other states and identified as priority areas for Switzerland.

Switzerland put a lot of effort into the creation of the Human Rights Council in 2006 and is still committed on a daily basis to ensuring that the Council remains an effective and relevant body in the fight against human rights violations. The country held the vice-presidency of the Human Rights Council in 2006 and 2013. Switzerland’s third term of Council membership will run from January 2016 to the end of 2018.

High Commissioner for Human Rights

The High Commissioner for Human Rights and the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights, both based in Geneva, also count among Switzerland's strategic partners. The various tasks of the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights include acting as Secretariat of the Human Rights Council. Switzerland supports the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights in financial and political terms, and is a firm advocate of the Office's independence. It is in favour of increasing the budget dedicated to the UN's "human rights pillar", a move that would help to enhance the importance of human rights in relation to the other pillars of the UN's work – "peace and security" and "development".

Non-governmental organisations

Switzerland attaches great importance to the work of non-governmental organisations that are active in the area of human rights. It supports civil society participation in the work of the Human Rights Council and ensures that representatives of civil society have the necessary scope to contribute fully to the work of the Council. As such, Switzerland is actively involved in initiatives to stop representatives of sovereign states from engaging in reprisals of any kind against human rights activists for their involvement in the work of the Human Rights Council and its various mechanisms.

Droits de l’homme dans le cadre des Nations Unies

Salle de conférence du Palais des Nations, ONU, Genève
Salle de conférence du Palais des Nations accueillant un grand nombre d'acteurs internationaux, ONU, Genève. © DFAE, Présence Suisse

La section des droits de l’homme de la Mission Genève promeut et défend les intérêts de la Suisse au sein du Conseil des droits de l’homme et de ses mécanismes subsidiaires. La section travaille étroitement avec les autres Etats, le Haut-Commissariat aux droits de l’homme et les représentants de la société civile.

Conseil des droits de l’homme

A travers la section des droits de l’homme de la Mission Genève, la Suisse participe activement aux travaux du Conseil des droits de l’homme. Cet organe intergouvernemental, basé à Genève, est principalement en charge de la promotion et de la protection des droits de l’homme au sein des Nations Unies. Composé de 47 membres, il se réunit en session ordinaire dix semaines par an. Lorsqu’il le juge nécessaire, le Conseil peut également se réunir de manière extraordinaire pour traiter de situations urgentes impliquant des violations de droits de l’homme. Le reste de l’année est consacré aux groupes de travail établis par le Conseil des droits de l’homme sur une multitude de thématiques. Un de ces groupes de travail est consacré à l’Examen périodique universel. Ce mécanisme novateur examine régulièrement la situation des droits de l’homme de tous les Etats et émet des recommandations afin de les encourager à mieux protéger et respecter les droits de l’homme sur leur territoire.

Initiatives diplomatiques et négociations

Au sein du Conseil des droits de l’homme, la Suisse développe des initiatives diplomatiques sur des thèmes prioritaires de sa politique étrangère, tels que la peine de mort, la justice transitionnelle, la promotion et la protection des droits de l’homme dans le contexte de manifestations pacifiques, ainsi que le droit à la vie privée à l’ère du numérique. La Suisse participe également activement aux négociations sur divers thèmes et situations de droits de l’homme qui font l’objet d’initiatives menées par d’autres Etats et qui sont jugées prioritaires pour la Suisse.

La Suisse s’est beaucoup investie lors de la création du Conseil des droits de l’homme en 2006. Elle continue à s’engager au quotidien pour que le Conseil demeure un organe efficace et pertinent afin de lutter contre les violations de droits de l’homme. La Suisse a été vice-présidente du Conseil des droits de l’homme en 2006 et en 2013.  A partir de janvier 2016 et jusqu’à fin 2018, elle exercera son troisième mandat de membre du Conseil.

Haut-Commissaire aux droits de l’homme

Le Haut-Commissaire aux droits de l’homme et son Bureau, tous deux basés à Genève, sont également des partenaires stratégiques de la Suisse. Parmi ses diverses tâches, le bureau du Haut-Commissariat des droits de l’homme agit comme Secrétariat du Conseil des droits de l’homme. La Suisse soutient le Haut-Commissariat aux droits de l’homme financièrement et politiquement et défend fermement son indépendance. Elle est en faveur d’un financement renforcé du «pilier droits de l’homme» de l’ONU. Ce financement permettrait de donner plus d’importance à ce domaine face aux autres piliers de l’ONU que sont les secteurs «paix et sécurité» et «développement».

Organisations non-gouvernementales

La Suisse attache beaucoup de valeur au travail des organisations non-gouvernementales actives dans les droits de l’homme. Elle soutient la participation de la société civile aux travaux du Conseil des droits de l’homme et défend l’espace qui permet aux représentants de la société civile de pleinement contribuer aux travaux du Conseil. La Suisse participe ainsi activement aux initiatives visant à lutter contre toute forme de représailles commises par les représentants d’Etats à l’égard des défenseurs des droits de l’homme en raison de leur participation aux travaux du Conseil des droits de l’homme et ses divers mécanismes.