Disarmament and non-proliferation

Sculpture "The Broken Chair" in Geneva, dedicated to the victims of landmines
"The Broken Chair", a monument to landmine victims and symbolic appeal for respect for human rights, Place des Nations, Geneva, 2010 © FDFA, Presence Switzerland

Geneva is the principal multilateral platform for disarmament and arms control. It is home to the Conference on Disarmament, whose Permanent Representative of Switzerland is Ambassador Sabrina Dallafior, several international disarmament treaties and many of the players in this field.

Conference on Disarmament

Switzerland is one of the 65 member states of the Conference on Disarmament that convenes every year in Geneva. The Conference on Disarmament was established by the United Nations as the single permanent multilateral forum of the international community for negotiating disarmament. The agenda of the Conference on Disarmament comprises the following four main themes:

  • The treaty banning the production of fissile material for use in nuclear weapons;
  • Nuclear disarmament;
  • Negative security assurances;
  • Prevention of an arms race in outer space.

Switzerland strongly believes in the importance of these four dossiers and supports the initiation of negotiations on the development of legally binding standards on all these themes. It is especially committed to overcoming current deadlocks and revitalising the work of the Conference on Disarmament, which has been unable to fulfil its mandate for the last 15 years.

Statements by Switzerland to the Conference on Disarmament

International treaties

The following four main multilateral disarmament treaties are covered by the Conference on Disarmament in Geneva, which carries out the necessary follow-up on their implementation:

  • The Biological and Toxin Weapons Convention;
  • The Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons;
  • The Anti-Personnel Landmine Convention;
  • The Convention on Cluster Munitions.

Within the framework of the Biological Weapons Convention Switzerland works to promote the adoption of concrete measures to ensure the instrument's implementation. Its aim is to meet the challenges presented by ongoing developments in the life sciences and those linked to compliance with the convention's provisions. Switzerland assumed the presidency of the meetings of the Biological Weapons Convention in 2014.

Switzerland plays a coordination role in the context of the Anti-Personnel Landmine Convention and the Convention on Cluster Munitions. In both cases it actively promotes the full implementation of these instruments and works to meet the challenges confronting them, such as their universalisation, questions concerning demining, and needs in the context of cooperation and assistance.

Geneva: Secretariat of the Arms Trade Treaty

ATT Head Office
The states parties to the Arms Trade Treaty (ATT) have decided to establish their new secretariat in Geneva. © Keystone/Stephan Torre

Désarmement et non-prolifération

Sculpture «Broken Chair», en hommage aux victimes de mines antipersonnel à Genève
La chaise cassée, ou «Broken Chair», monument dédié aux victimes de mines antipersonnel et symbole d'appel au respect des droits de l’homme, Place des Nations, Genève, 2010. © DFAE/Présence Suisse

Genève est la principale plateforme multilatérale de désarmement et de maîtrise des armements. Elle abrite la Conférence du désarment, dont l'Ambassadeur Sabrina Dallafior y est le Représentant permanent de la Suisse, plusieurs traités internationaux de désarmement ainsi qu’une multitude d’acteurs du domaine.

Conférence du Désarmement

La Suisse fait partie des 65 Etats membres de la Conférence du désarmement qui se réunissent chaque année à Genève. Cette enceinte établie par l’ONU est l’unique forum multilatéral permanent de négociation sur le désarmement dont dispose la communauté internationale. Quatre thématiques principales sont à l’ordre du jour:

  • Le traité interdisant la production de matières fissiles pour la fabrication d’armes nucléaires
  • Le désarmement nucléaire
  • Les garanties négatives de sécurité
  • La prévention d’une course aux armements dans l’espace

Convaincue de l’importance de ces quatre dossiers, la Suisse soutient l’ouverture de négociations portant sur l’élaboration de normes juridiquement contraignantes sur l’ensemble de ces thématiques. Elle s’engage tout particulièrement en vue de surmonter les blocages actuels et de revitaliser les travaux de cette enceinte, la Conférence du désarmement étant dans l’incapacité de remplir son mandat de négociations depuis plus de 15 ans.

Interventions de la Suisse à la Conférence du désarmement

Traités internationaux

Quatre des principaux traités multilatéraux de désarmement sont ancrés à Genève, d’où s’opère le nécessaire processus de suivi de leur mise en œuvre.

  • La Convention sur l’interdiction des armes biologiques et à toxines
  • La Convention sur certaines armes classiques
  • La Convention sur l’interdiction des mines antipersonnel
  • La Convention sur l’interdiction des armes à sous-munition

Dans le cadre de la Convention sur les armes biologiques, la Suisse s’efforce de promouvoir l’adoption de mesures concrètes pour assurer la mise en œuvre de cet instrument. Son but: relever les défis posés par les développements continus des sciences de la vie ou ceux liés au respect des dispositions de cet instrument. La Suisse a assumé la présidence des réunions de la Convention sur les armes biologiques en 2014.

Dans la Convention sur l’interdiction des mines anti-personnel et dans la Convention sur les armes à sous-munition, la Suisse assume des fonctions de coordination. Dans les deux cas de figure, elle s’emploie à promouvoir la pleine mise en œuvre de ces instruments et de relever les défis auxquels ceux-ci sont confrontés, tels que leur universalisation, les questions de déminage ou les besoins en termes de coopération et d’assistance.

Genève: Secrétariat du Traité sur le commerce des armes

ATT Genève
Les Etats parties au Traité sur le commerce des armes (TCA) ont décidé que le siège de son secrétariat serait à Genève. © Keystone/Stephan Torre