Biodiversity

Switzerland's varied geography and climate have produced a great wealth of biodiversity. The federal government has introduced a raft of measures to safeguard the country's rich natural heritage.

View over a river landscape
The Swiss National Park © Switzerland Tourism

It is estimated that Switzerland is home to around 50,000 species of plants, fungi and animals, of which 3,700 appear on the red list of endangered species. This rich biodiversity is thanks to Switzerland's varied geography and climate. The alpine regions and forests are home to most of these species.

Biodiversity in flux

Biodiversity has fluctuated considerably over time. It is thought that Switzerland’s biodiversity peaked towards the middle or end of the 19th century. While the number of species has risen, this development is due to the arrival of non-natives, making certain habitats more uniform and depriving them of their uniqueness. Despite the raft of protective measures that Switzerland has taken, its biodiversity is at risk and its long-term survival is far from guaranteed.

Biodiversity protection in Switzerland

Switzerland was one of the first countries in the world to monitor its biological diversity. Specialists regularly compile inventories of the animals and plants found in all parts of the country. Added to this is the strategy developed by the federal government in 2012 to protect and promote biodiversity.

Switzerland has also signed the 1992 UN Convention on Biological Diversity, which aims to reverse the worldwide decline in the number of different species of animals, plants and other organisms.

National parks

Switzerland currently has 16 regional national parks where flora and fauna can thrive naturally. In 1914 the Swiss National Park opened in the canton of Graubünden, a first in both Switzerland and central Europe. Additional parks have been created since 2008 on the basis of the Federal Act on the Protection of Nature and Cultural Heritage. Since then, all parts of the country have launched a number of projects to preserve their natural heritage.

Biodiversität

Dank ihrer landschaftlichen Vielfalt und der klimatischen Gegensätze gibt es in der Schweiz eine grosse Biodiversität. Von staatlicher Seite wird dieses Naturgut nachhaltig geschützt.

Blick auf eine Flusslandschaft
Schweizer Nationalpark © Schweiz Tourismus

In der Schweiz kommen rund 50’000 Pflanzen-, Pilz- und Tierarten vor, 3’700 davon stehen auf der Roten Liste der gefährdeten oder ausgestorbenen Arten. Die Artenvielfalt ist den klimatischen und topografischen Unterschieden der Schweiz zu verdanken. Am stärksten ausgeprägt ist sie in den Alpenregionen und Waldgebieten.

Schwankungen der Artenvielfalt

Im Laufe der Jahrhunderte war die Artenvielfalt in der Schweiz starken Schwankungen unterworfen. Um die Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts war sie vermutlich am stärksten. Wenn die Anzahl der Arten ansteigt, ist dies auf das Eindringen von Arten aus anderen Verbreitungsgebieten zurückzuführen, was sich in den einzelnen Habitaten als Uniformierung und Banalisierung bemerkbar macht. Trotz aller Schutzmassnahmen ist die Biodiversität in der Schweiz bedroht und ihr Erhalt ist auf lange Sicht nicht gewährleistet.

Der Kampf für die Biodiversität in der Schweiz

Die Schweiz ist eines der ersten Länder der Welt, das sich für die Überwachung der Artenvielfalt engagiert hat. Beauftragte Fachleute erstellen regelmässig Inventare der Tiere und Pflanzen in allen Landesteilen. Zudem hat die Regierung 2012 eine Strategie zum Schutz und zur Förderung der Biodiversität ausgearbeitet.

Die Schweiz gehört zu den Unterzeichnerstaaten der UNO-Konvention zur Biodiversität aus dem Jahr 1992. Dieses internationale Abkommen verfolgt das Ziel, den Trend zur Verminderung der Artenvielfalt bei Tieren, Pflanzen und anderen Organismen umzukehren.

Nationalparks

In der Schweiz gibt es derzeit 16 Nationalparks, in welchen sich Fauna und Flora auf natürliche Weise entwickeln können. 1914 war der Schweizer Nationalpark im Kanton Graubünden als erster dieser Art geschaffen worden. Seit 2008 können aufgrund des Bundesgesetzes über den Natur- und Landschaftsschutz zusätzliche Parks eingerichtet werden. Seither sind in allen Landesteilen entsprechende Projekte realisiert worden.