Biodiversity

Switzerland's varied geography and climate have produced a great wealth of biodiversity. The federal government has introduced a raft of measures to safeguard the country's rich natural heritage.

View over a river landscape
The Swiss National Park © Switzerland Tourism

It is estimated that Switzerland is home to around 50,000 species of plants, fungi and animals, of which 3,700 appear on the red list of endangered species. This rich biodiversity is thanks to Switzerland's varied geography and climate. The alpine regions and forests are home to most of these species.

Biodiversity in flux

Biodiversity has fluctuated considerably over time. It is thought that Switzerland’s biodiversity peaked towards the middle or end of the 19th century. While the number of species has risen, this development is due to the arrival of non-natives, making certain habitats more uniform and depriving them of their uniqueness. Despite the raft of protective measures that Switzerland has taken, its biodiversity is at risk and its long-term survival is far from guaranteed.

Biodiversity protection in Switzerland

Switzerland was one of the first countries in the world to monitor its biological diversity. Specialists regularly compile inventories of the animals and plants found in all parts of the country. Added to this is the strategy developed by the federal government in 2012 to protect and promote biodiversity.

Switzerland has also signed the 1992 UN Convention on Biological Diversity, which aims to reverse the worldwide decline in the number of different species of animals, plants and other organisms.

National parks

Switzerland currently has 16 regional national parks where flora and fauna can thrive naturally. In 1914 the Swiss National Park opened in the canton of Graubünden, a first in both Switzerland and central Europe. Additional parks have been created since 2008 on the basis of the Federal Act on the Protection of Nature and Cultural Heritage. Since then, all parts of the country have launched a number of projects to preserve their natural heritage.

Biodiversité

Par la variété de ses paysages et ses contrastes climatiques, la Suisse jouit d’une biodiversité riche. Le gouvernement protège ce patrimoine naturel pour en assurer la conservation.

Décor de rivière
Parc national suisse. © Suisse Tourisme

La Suisse abrite environ 50’000 espèces végétales, fongiques et animales, dont 3700 sont inscrites sur les listes rouges des espèces menacées, disparues ou éteintes.  Cette richesse s’explique par la diversité climatique et topographique du pays. Les régions alpines et les zones forestières concentrent la plus grande variété d’espèces. 

Fluctuation des espèces

La biodiversité suisse a considérablement fluctué au cours des siècles. Elle a probablement atteint un pic dans la seconde moitié du 19e siècle.  Lorsque le nombre d’espèces croît, cela est dû à l’arrivée d’espèces déjà fréquentes ailleurs, ce qui se traduit par une uniformisation et une banalisation des habitats. Malgré les efforts pour la préserver, la biodiversité suisse est menacée et sa conservation à long terme n’est pas assurée.

Lutte pour la biodiversité suisse

La Suisse est l’un des premiers pays au monde à entreprendre la surveillance de sa diversité biologique . Des spécialistes mandatés procèdent régulièrement à l’inventaire des animaux et des plantes sur de nombreuses surfaces du territoire. Par ailleurs, le gouvernement a élaboré en 2012 une stratégie en faveur de la conservation et du développement de la diversité biologique.

La Suisse a en outre signé la Convention des Nations Unies sur la diversité biologique de 1992. Cet accord international a pour but d’inverser la tendance au déclin des espèces animales, végétales et d’autres organismes.

Parcs nationaux

La Suisse compte 16 parcs nationaux dans lesquels la faune et la flore évoluent naturellement. Dans les Grisons, le Parc national Suisse est le premier à avoir été créé, en 1914. . Depuis 2008, de nouveaux parcs peuvent être créés sur la base de la loi sur la protection de la nature et du paysage. Depuis lors, des projets ont vu le jour dans toutes les régions du pays.