Cultural policy

Due to Switzerland’s federal structure, funding for culture comes from many different sources.

Studio at the Venice Biennale with visitors
The Venice Biennale, Pro Helvetia. © Andrea Avezzù

The promotion of culture in Switzerland includes support for the creation, production, broadcasting and archiving of works, which is provided both by the public authorities and by private institutions such as foundations, sponsors and patrons of the arts.

Public spending on culture comes to around CHF 3 billion per year. The lion’s share is funded by a handful of conurbations, namely the cantons of Zurich, Geneva, Bern, Vaud and Basel-Stadt, and their respective communes.

The annual federal arts budget is CHF 320 million. The culture policy of the Confederation is jointly implemented by the Federal Office of Culture and Pro Helvetia, the Swiss Arts Council.

The Federal Office of Culture (FOC) is responsible for federal cultural policy and for promoting, preserving and transmitting cultural diversity. It backs artistic creation in fields such as fine art and film, manages museums and collections, supports the preservation of historical monuments, and is involved in the provision of cultural education. The main offices of the FOC are in Bern.

The Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia promotes the dissemination of Swiss culture abroad. At home it contributes to cultural exchanges between regions and promotes artistic creation. Its headquarters are in Zurich.

The FOC and Pro Helvetia, in collaboration with the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA), oversee Switzerland’s cultural activities abroad.

Kulturpolitik

Als Folge des Föderalismus wird das Kulturschaffen der Schweiz aus zahlreichen Quellen unterschiedlichster Art gefördert.

Atelier auf der Biennale Venedig mit Besuchern
Biennale Venedig, Pro Helvetia. © Andrea Avezzù

Gegenstand der Schweizer Kulturförderung ist das kulturelle Schaffen, die Produktion, die Verbreitung und die Archivierung von Werken durch die öffentliche Hand und durch private Institutionen wie Stiftungen, Sponsoren und Mäzene.

Die Gemeinwesen wenden jährlich rund 3 Milliarden Franken für die Kultur auf. Der grösste Teil davon entfällt auf einige grosse städtische Zentren. Es sind dies die Kantone Zürich, Genf, Bern, Waadt und Baselstadt und ihre jeweiligen Stadtgemeinden.

Der Bund unterstützt das Kulturschaffen mit einem Betrag von jährlich rund 320 Millionen Franken. Die Kulturpolitik des Bundes wird von zwei Organisationen gemeinsam getragen: Vom Bundesamt für Kultur und von der Stiftung Pro Helvetia.

Das Bundesamt für Kultur ist zuständig für die Kulturpolitik des Bundes und verantwortlich für die Förderung, Erhaltung und Vermittlung kultureller Vielfalt. Es fördert das kulturelle Schaffen in Bereichen wie Kunst und Film, betreut Museen und Sammlungen, unterstützt die Denkmalpflege und engagiert sich in der kulturellen Bildung. Das Bundesamt für Kultur befindet sich in Bern.

Die Stiftung Pro Helvetia fördert die Verbreitung von Schweizer Kultur im Ausland. Im Inland trägt sie zum kulturellen Austausch zwischen den einzelnen Regionen bei und fördert das künstlerische Schaffen. Die Stiftung hat ihren Sitz in Zürich.

Die kulturellen Aktivitäten der Schweiz im Ausland werden in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Eidgenössischen Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten von diesen beiden Organisationen wahrgenommen.