Cultural policy

Due to Switzerland’s federal structure, funding for culture comes from many different sources.

Studio at the Venice Biennale with visitors
The Venice Biennale, Pro Helvetia. © Andrea Avezzù

The promotion of culture in Switzerland includes support for the creation, production, broadcasting and archiving of works, which is provided both by the public authorities and by private institutions such as foundations, sponsors and patrons of the arts.

Public spending on culture comes to around CHF 3 billion per year. The lion’s share is funded by a handful of conurbations, namely the cantons of Zurich, Geneva, Bern, Vaud and Basel-Stadt, and their respective communes.

The annual federal arts budget is CHF 320 million. The culture policy of the Confederation is jointly implemented by the Federal Office of Culture and Pro Helvetia, the Swiss Arts Council.

The Federal Office of Culture (FOC) is responsible for federal cultural policy and for promoting, preserving and transmitting cultural diversity. It backs artistic creation in fields such as fine art and film, manages museums and collections, supports the preservation of historical monuments, and is involved in the provision of cultural education. The main offices of the FOC are in Bern.

The Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia promotes the dissemination of Swiss culture abroad. At home it contributes to cultural exchanges between regions and promotes artistic creation. Its headquarters are in Zurich.

The FOC and Pro Helvetia, in collaboration with the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA), oversee Switzerland’s cultural activities abroad.

Politique culturelle

En raison du fédéralisme, le soutien à la culture en Suisse émane de nombreuses sources différentes.

Participants à un atelier pendant la Biennale de Venise
Biennales à Venise, Pro Helvetia. © Andrea Avezzù

L’encouragement de la culture en Suisse comprend le soutien à la production, la diffusion et la conservation d’œuvres par les pouvoirs publics et des institutions privées telles que les fondations, les sponsors, ou les mécènes.

Les collectivités publiques allouent chaque année environ 3 milliards de francs à la culture. La majorité de ces dépenses est assurée par quelques grands centres urbains, soit les cantons de Zurich, Genève, Berne, Vaud et Bâle-Ville avec leurs communes respectives.

La Confédération dispose d’un budget annuel pour la culture d’environ 320 millions de francs. La politique culturelle de la Confédération est mise en œuvre conjointement par deux instances: l’Office fédéral de la culture et la fondation Pro Helvetia.

L’Office fédéral de la culture est compétent pour les questions de principe liées à la politique de la culture, la promotion de la culture, ainsi que la protection et la transmission des valeurs culturelles. Il soutient la création dans des domaines comme l’art ou le cinéma, gère des musées et des bibliothèques, s’engage en faveur de la formation culturelle et promeut la conservation des monuments historiques et la protection de la nature et du paysage. Son siège est à Berne.

La fondation Pro Helvetia soutient la diffusion de la culture suisse à l’étranger. Elle entretient également les échanges culturels entre les différentes régions du pays et encourage la création artistique en Suisse. Son siège est à Zurich.

Les activités culturelles de la Suisse à l’étranger sont portées par ces deux institutions, en collaboration avec le Département fédéral des affaires étrangères.