Sustainable Development Strategy

With its 2030 Sustainable Development Strategy, the Federal Council is setting out how it intends to implement the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development over the next ten years. At its meeting on 4 November, the Federal Council ap-proved the strategy for consultation.

In its 2030 Sustainable Development Strategy draft, the Federal Council sets out the guiding principles of its sustainable development policy. The strategy is scheduled to cover a period of ten years instead of four, as was previously the case. In so doing, the Federal Council is establishing sustainable development as an important requirement for all areas of federal government policy. The strategy draws on the 2030 Agenda and Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) as a frame of reference.

The strategy defines priorities in those policy areas in which there is a particular need for action and coordination between policy areas at federal level in order to implement the 2030 Agenda. For this reason, the Federal Council has identified the three topics of 'sustainable consumption and production', 'climate, energy, biodiversity' and 'equal opportunities' as priority issues, and has set goals for the period up to 2030, as well as strategic domestic and foreign policy guidelines for federal government policy.

The strategy also sets out how the economy, the financial market and the education, research and innovation sectors can drive forward sustainable development and the framework conditions that are needed to do so.

Once the consultation process has been completed, the Federal Council will also adopt an action plan to complement the strategy specifying objectives and strategic guidelines for the period 2021-2023. 

The consultation runs until 18 February 2021. All interested organizations are invited to submit their comments within this timeframe.

Strategie Nachhaltige Entwicklung

Mit seiner Strategie Nachhaltige Entwicklung 2030 zeigt der Bundesrat auf, wie er die Agenda 2030 für nachhaltige Entwicklung in den nächsten zehn Jahren umsetzen will. An seiner Sitzung vom 4. November 2020 hat der Bundesrat die Strategie in die Vernehmlassung geschickt.

Im Entwurf seiner Strategie Nachhaltige Entwicklung 2030 legt der Bundesrat die Leitlinien seiner Nachhaltigkeitspolitik fest. Die Strategie ist neu auf zehn statt wie bisher auf vier Jahre ausgelegt. Dabei verankert der Bundesrat nachhaltige Entwicklung als eine wichtige Anforderung für alle Politikbereiche des Bundes. Die Agenda 2030 und ihre Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung (Sustainable Development Goals) bilden den Referenzrahmen für die Strategie.

Die Strategie legt Schwerpunkte in den Politikbereichen fest, in denen für die Umsetzung der Agenda 2030 auf Bundesebene ein besonderer Handlungs- und Abstimmungsbedarf zwischen Politikbereichen besteht. Aus diesem Grund hat der Bundesrat die drei Themen «nachhaltiger Konsum und nachhaltige Produktion», «Klima, Energie, Biodiversität» und «Chancengleichheit» als Schwerpunktthemen identifiziert und Ziele bis 2030 sowie innen- und aussenpolitische Stossrichtungen für die Bundespolitik festgelegt.

Die Strategie legt zudem dar, wie die Wirtschaft, der Finanzmarkt sowie der Bereich der Bildung, Forschung und Innovation die nachhaltige Entwicklung vorantreiben können und welche Rahmenbedingungen dafür notwendig sind.

Ergänzend zur Strategie wird der Bundesrat nach erfolgter Vernehmlassung einen Aktionsplan verabschieden, um die Ziele und strategischen Stossrichtungen für die Jahre 2021-2023 zu konkretisieren.

Die Vernehmlassung dauert bis am 18. Februar 2021. Alle interessierten Organisationen sind eingeladen, in diesem Rahmen eine Stellungnahme abzugeben.