Visa – Entry to and residence in Switzerland

The Confederation is currently examining whether and how, in view of the improved epidemiological situation, the entry conditions for persons from third countries may be relaxed. As a Schengen associated state, the Confederation coordinates its entry regulations with the European Union. The Federal Council will provide information on this before the end of June. 

In order to maintain Switzerland's capacity to cope with the COVID-19 epidemic and to ensure the conditions for an adequate supply of care and medicinal products to the population, the Federal Council has taken several measures since March 2020. One of these is the enactment of Ordinance 3 on Measures to Combat Coronavirus (COVID-19 Ordinance 3), which provides for restrictions on entry, border crossing and the admission of foreigners to Switzerland (Art. 3 and 4 COVID- 19 Ordinance 3). Entry of people from risk countries or regions is restricted (Art. 3 Para. 2 COVID-19 Regulation 3).

All Schengen states, EU and European small states as well as individual third countries are no longer considered risk states since July 2020. For entries from these countries, there are no longer any entry restrictions related to the Coronavirus, but the usual entry requirements apply again.

For all third country nationals, it is still not possible to travel to Switzerland for vacation, for visiting purposes of for other reasons, provided that they are entering from a risk country (e.g. Philippines, Micronesia, Marshall Islands, and Palau). Entry from a risk country for stays of less than 90 days without a permit will continue to only be permitted for cases of special necessity according to the Ordinance 3 Covid-19.

The Philippine authorities have issued rules and regulations regarding the departure of Philippine citizens. May we kindly ask you to consult the relevant resolutions of the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Infectious Diseases (IATF)  and the Bureau of Immigration in advance.


Various regulations apply for entering Switzerland. A basic distinction is made between citizens of the European Union (EU) and European Free Trade Association (EFTA) countries and those of other countries. The State Secretariat for Migration (SEM) is the responsible authority in Switzerland.


Since Switzerland’s adherence to the Schengen and Dublin agreements came into force (12 December 2008), Swiss representations abroad are able to issue certain categories of visa, depending on the length of stay and purpose of the journey in Switzerland. Please select one of the following options.

Personal appearance and fingerprint

Starting from November 2013, all diplomatic representations of the Schengen member states in the Philippines have to capture the biometric data (finger scans and facial image) of  persons applying for a Schengen visa. The data will be kept in the Visa Information System (VIS) for 5 years.

Schengen visa for a stay of up to 90 days

For persons wishing to enter Switzerland for a short stay of up to 90 days within a 180-day period: for example, in a context of tourism, a visit to relatives or friends, short-term language studies, participating in a conference or in sporting/cultural events, etc.

National visa for a stay of more than 90 days

For persons wishing to enter Switzerland for a stay of more than 90 days within a 180-day period. It is subject to the authorisation of the cantonal migration authority competent for the intended place of residence. For example: long-term student, family reunification, marriage in Switzerland, etc.

Airport transit visa

For citizens of certain countries who need a transit visa even if they are staying in the international transit area of the airport and do not enter the Schengen territory.

Labour / Work permits

Admission of foreign workers to an employer in Switzerland is subject to the authorisation of the competent cantonal authority. The entry visa is granted only when the requested authorisations have been delivered.