Second Swiss Contribution to selected EU member states

The second Swiss contribution is an investment in Europe’s security, stability and prosperity. It seeks to strengthen cohesion in Europe and to support countries that face exceptional migration challenges. Through the second contribution, Switzerland is furthermore strengthening and deepening bilateral relations with the EU partner countries and the EU as a whole. 

The second contribution has a total value of CHF 1.302 billion – equal to the amount of the pre-ceding enlargement contribution – and a duration of ten years until 3 December 2029. It consists of a cohesion framework credit, available to the EU-13 states and a migration framework credit, available to the EU-27 states.

Under the Framework credit on cohesion, Switzerland has earmarked CHF 1.102 billion for the 13 EU Member States that have joined the EU since 2004, namely Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Lithuania, Latvia, Malta, Poland, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia (EU-13). 200 CHF million are available to the EU-27 states under the Framework credit on migration. These funds will be allocated under national cooperation programmes and a Rapid response fund.  The Migration Framework credit will be implemented in two phases (2022-2026 and 2025-2029) and in the first phase Switzerland will cooperate with Greece, Italy and Cyprus.

The second contribution was approved by the Swiss Parliament on 3 December 2019 and released on 30 September 2021. On June 30, 2022 Switzerland and the EU signed in Brussels a memorandum of understanding (MoU) specifying key parameters of the contribution such as the amount, its distribution among the partner countries, thematic priorities and principles for cooperation and implementation.