Information for seafarers

Seemans throwing their hats up in the air
Seemans celebrating graduation. © CCO

The FDFA's Swiss Maritime Navigation Office issues seaman's books to crew members of Swiss nationality, but no certificates; these must be obtained abroad. The shipping companies provide six-month training internships for young sailors.

Training and certificates

Art. 66 of the Maritime Navigation Act authorises the SMNO to issue seaman's books to crew members of Swiss nationality. The applicant or, more accurately, his employer must supply proof that the request meets a need.

Switzerland has no organisation proposing, in the maritime navigation sector, courses or training that satisfy the demands of the International Convention on Standards of Training, Certification and Watchkeeping for Seafarers (STCW). Thus, the SMNO issues neither Certificates of Competency (CoC) nor Certificates of Proficiency (CoP) under the 2010 STCW Convention (Manila Amendments). The CoC (for all ships) and the CoP (for tankers) obtained abroad are recognised for service onboard ships sailing under the Swiss flag (upon request, an endorsement is issued).

The Swiss Maritime Navigation Office draws the attention of sailors and other interested parties to the fact that all required courses and certificates must be obtained abroad, in a country listed by the International Maritime Organization (IMO) as fulfilling the provisions of the STCW Convention (provisions of rules 1/7 and 1/8 must be in practice by the state member of the IMO).

The STCW Convention

Provisions pertaining to sailors working in international commercial shipping are standardised under the 1978 International Convention on Standards of Training, Certification and Watchkeeping for Seafarers (STCW). As the Federal Assembly voted on 9 March 1987 in favour of joining the convention, its provisions have applied to Switzerland since 15 March 1988. The Convention was strengthened in 2010 with the adoption of the Manila Amendments, applied as of 1 January 2012.

The STCW Convention, List of member states

The medical certificate for seamen conforming to the STCW Convention

Anyone working on a commercial ship must have a medical certificate in conformity with the STCW Convention (STCW Code Section A-1/9), issued by a body approved by the Swiss Maritime Navigation Office. This certificate is issued for a maximum of two years.

Medical certificates issued abroad are recognised for service on merchant vessels operating under the Swiss flag, if they meet the provisions of the STCW Convention (STCW Code Section A-1/9).

Swiss service for medical examinations of merchant seamen

Occupational Health Centre Basel azb AG
Düngerstrasse 81
CH-4133 Pratteln
Tél. +41 (0)61 821 82 60
Fax +41 (0)61 821 82 61
info@azbasel.com
www.azbasel.com

Information for apprentice seamen

The international shipping industry is a highly competitive labour market. For those in good health and holding a school-leaving certificate, exciting career opportunities exist in the maritime shipping industry and related branches.

Any candidate interested in a training programme (normally, six straight months at sea) must apply directly to the shipping companies, with the following documents obtained at their own expense:

  • Medical certificate according to the STCW Convention

  • The STCW "Basic Safety training" Certificate (must be obtained abroad; for course-providers, see Maritime Training Pilot)

All training as a ship's officer (on deck or in the engine room) must be done abroad. The SMNO offers a small number of internships for graduates of maritime academies.

Informations à l’intention des marins

Marins jetant leurs chapeaux en l'air
Des marins célébrant la fin de leur formation. © CCO

L’Office suisse de la navigation maritime du DFAE délivre des livrets de marin aux membres d’équipage de nationalité suisse, mais aucun brevet, qui doivent être obtenus à l’étranger. Les armateurs mettent à disposition des jeunes marins des stages de six mois.

Formation et brevets

En vertu de l’art. 66 de la loi sur la navigation maritime, l’Office Suisse de la navigation maritime (OSNM) peut délivrer un livret de marin aux membres d’équipage de nationalité suisse. Le requérant, ou plus précisément son employeur, doit lui apporter la preuve que la demande répond à un besoin.

Il n’existe en Suisse aucun institut proposant, dans le secteur de la navigation maritime, des cours ou des formations répondant aux exigences de la Convention internationale sur les normes de formation des gens de mer, délivrance des brevets et de veille STCW. C’est pourquoi l’OSNM ne délivre ni Certificates of Competency (CoC) ni Certificates of Proficiency (CoP) au sens de la Convention STCW 2010 (amendements de Manille 2010). Les CoC (pour tous les navires) et les CoP (pour les navires-citernes) obtenus à l’étranger sont reconnus pour le service à bord de navires battant pavillon suisse (sur demande un endorsement sera établi).

L’Office suisse de la navigation maritime attire l’attention de tous les marins et autres personnes intéressées sur le fait que tous les cours et brevets requis doivent être obtenus à l’étranger, dans l’un des pays que l’Organisation maritime internationale (OMI) a inscrits sur la liste des Etats garantissant la pleine application des dispositions de la Convention STCW (les dispositions des règles I/7 et I/8 doivent être mises en œuvre par l’Etat membre de l’OMI).

Convention STCW

Les dispositions applicables aux marins travaillant dans la navigation commerciale internationale sont uniformisées dans la Convention internationale de 1978 sur les normes de formation des gens de mer, délivrance des brevets et de veille (Convention STCW). L’Assemblée fédérale s’étant prononcée en faveur d’une adhésion à la convention le 9 mars 1987, les dispositions sont entrées en vigueur pour la Suisse le 15 mars 1988. La convention a été étoffée en 2010 avec l’adoption des amendements de Manille, entrés en vigueur au 1er janvier 2012.

Convention STCW, Liste des Etats

Certificat médical pour les marins conformément à la Convention STCW

Toute personne engagée sur un navire commercial doit être en possession d’un certificat médical conforme à la Convention STCW (section A-I/9 du Code STCW), établi par le service désigné par l’Office suisse de la navigation maritime. Ce certificat est délivré pour une durée maximale de deux ans.

Les certificats médicaux délivrés à l’étranger sont reconnus pour le service à bord d’un navire battant pavillon suisse pour autant qu’ils soient conformes aux dispositions de la Convention STCW (section A-I/9 du Code STCW).

Service compétent pour l’examen médical des marins en Suisse

Arbeitsmedizinisches Zentrum Basel azb AG
Düngerstrasse 81
CH-4133 Pratteln
Tél. +41 (0)61 821 82 60
Fax +41 (0)61 821 82 61
info@azbasel.com
www.azbasel.com

Informations à l’intention des apprentis marins

La navigation maritime internationale constitue un marché du travail extrêmement compétitif. Pourtant  de passionnantes perspectives de carrière existent dans l’industrie de la navigation maritime et dans des filières apparentées, à condition d’être en bonne santé et de posséder une maturité professionnelle ou gymnasiale.

Toute personne intéressée par un stage (en principe navigation ininterrompue de six mois) doit postuler directement auprès des armateurs et présenter au moins les documents suivants, obtenus à ses propres frais:

  • Certificat médical selon Convention STCW

  • Certificat STCW «Basic Safety Training» (ne peut être suivi qu’à l’étranger; pour trouver un institut de formation, voir notamment Maritime Training Pilot)

Les formations d’officier de navire (pont ou machine) doivent être effectués à l’étranger. L’OSNM propose un nombre limité de places de stage aux diplômés des hautes écoles (spécialisées) nautiques.