Schengen/Dublin

A Swiss border guard checks a Swiss passport and ID card.
The Schengen Association Agreement facilitates travel between Switzerland and the EU. © Photopress

The Schengen/Dublin cooperation agreements provide for close cooperation between EU member states and the associated states in border, justice, police, visa and asylum-related matters. Under Schengen, the participating states have removed checks on persons at internal borders and adopted compensatory measures to strengthen internal security. Dublin cooperation ensures that each asylum application is examined by only one state. 

The cooperation between European states known as Schengen – in the fields of justice, police and migration – was initiated in 1985 by five member states of the then European Community. It now includes almost all EU member states and four associated states: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and, since 12 December 2008, Switzerland. 

Schengen/Dublin maps

The Schengen Association Agreement (SAA) facilitates travel between Switzerland and the other Schengen member states by removing checks on persons at internal borders. It also improves international judicial and police cooperation in the fight against crime. 

Legally linked to the SAA is the Dublin Association Agreement, which ensures that an asylum application is examined by only one member state within the Dublin area. The Dublin criteria establish which country is responsible for dealing with an application. This prevents asylum seekers from being sent from one country to another and, if their first application for asylum has been denied, from submitting a new one in another Dublin state.

Chronology

12.12.2008 Operational entry into force of Schengen (at airports from 29.03.2009)

01.03.2008 Formal entry into force of Schengen and Dublin

05.06.2005 Approval by the Swiss electorate (54.6% in favour)

26.10.2004 Signing of the agreements (as part of Bilaterals II)

Swiss involvement in further development of the Schengen acquis

Switzerland can help shape further development of the Schengen acquis and defend its interests directly in discussions among experts or at ambassadorial or ministerial-level meetings. Switzerland has a decision-shaping role, which is significant as decisions are generally taken without a vote.

When the EU passes a new legal act of relevance to the Schengen/Dublin acquis, Switzerland must decide, in accordance with Swiss parliamentary and direct democratic processes, whether it wishes to adopt it. Since the signing of the agreements in 2004, the EU has notified Switzerland of more than 250 further developments of the Schengen acquis. In the majority of cases, the content is of a technical nature or limited in scope and the Federal Council can give its direct approval or take note. Parliament has only had to approve the adoption of around 35 legal developments, several of which are currently in the parliamentary approval process.

Schengen/Dublin

Ein Schweizer Grenzschutzbeamter kontrolliert einen Schweizer Pass und eine ID.
Das Schengen-Assoziierungsabkommen erleichtert den Reiseverkehr zwischen der Schweiz und der EU. © Photopress

Die Schengen/Dublin-Zusammenarbeit fördert die enge Kooperation zwischen den EU-Mitgliedstaaten und den assoziierten Staaten in den Bereichen Grenze, Justiz, Polizei, Visa und Asyl. Mit der Schengener Zusammenarbeit haben die teilnehmenden Staaten Personenkontrollen an den Binnengrenzen aufgehoben und Ausgleichsmassnahmen zur Stärkung der inneren Sicherheit beschlossen. Die Dubliner Zusammenarbeit stellt sicher, dass jedes Asylgesuch nur noch von einem Staat geprüft wird. 

Die unter dem Titel Schengen bekannte Zusammenarbeit europäischer Staaten in den Bereichen Justiz, Polizei und Migration wurde 1985 von fünf Mitgliedstaaten der damaligen Europäischen Gemeinschaft lanciert. Sie umfasst heute fast alle EU-Mitgliedstaaten sowie die vier assoziierten Staaten Island, Liechtenstein, Norwegen und, seit dem 12. Dezember 2008, die Schweiz.

Europakarten zum Schengen und Dublin Abkommen

Das Schengen-Assoziierungsabkommen (SAA) erleichtert den Reiseverkehr zwischen der Schweiz und den Mitgliedstaaten der Europäischen Union (EU) durch die Aufhebung von Personenkontrollen an den Binnengrenzen. Zudem verbessert es die internationale Justiz- und Polizeizusammenarbeit im Kampf gegen Kriminalität.

Mit dem SAA rechtlich verbunden ist das Dubliner Assoziierungsabkommen. Es stellt sicher, dass ein Asylgesuch nur von einem Staat im Dublin-Raum geprüft wird. Die Dublin-Kriterien legen die nationale Zuständigkeit fest und verhindern so, dass Asylsuchende von Staat zu Staat geschoben werden oder nach Ablehnung ihres Gesuchs in einem anderen Dublin-Staat ein Neues einreichen.

Chronologie

12.12.2008 Operationelles Inkrafttreten Schengen (an den Flughäfen am 29.03.2009)

01.03.2008 Formelles Inkrafttreten Schengen und Dublin

05.06.2005 Genehmigung durch das Volk (mit 54,6% Ja-Stimmen)

26.10.2004 Unterzeichnung der Abkommen (im Rahmen der Bilateralen II)

Weiterentwicklungen des Schengen Besitzstandes: Die Schweiz redet mit

Die Schweiz kann sich an der Gestaltung von Weiterentwicklungen des Schengen-Besitzstands beteiligen und ihre Interessen direkt in den Expertendiskussionen oder im Rahmen von Treffen auf Botschafter- und Ministerstufe einfliessen lassen. Sie hat ein gestaltendes Mitspracherecht. Das ist bedeutend, da die Beschlussfassung meistens ohne Abstimmung erfolgt.

Sind neue Schengen/Dublin-relevante Rechtsakte von der EU beschlossen worden, entscheidet die Schweiz im Einklang mit ihren parlamentarischen und direktdemokratischen Prozessen, ob sie diese übernehmen will. Seit der Unterzeichnung der Abkommen 2004 hat die EU die Schweiz über mehr als 250 Weiterentwicklungen des Schengen-Besitzstands notifiziert. Ein grosser Teil der Weiterentwicklungen ist inhaltlich technischer Natur oder von beschränkter Tragweite und kann direkt vom Bundesrat genehmigt bzw. zur Kenntnis genommen werden. Nur die Übernahme von rund 35 Rechtsentwicklungen hatte das Parlament zu genehmigen, mehrere Weiterentwicklungen befinden sich derzeit im parlamentarischen Genehmigungsverfahren.