

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs FDFA

242.512.0 - GEN 1/13

Notification to the Governments of the States parties to the Geneva Conventions of 12 August 1949 for the Protection of War Victims

CONVENTIONS AND ADDITIONAL PROTOCOLS

I. Accession of the Republic of South Sudan

On 25 January 2013, the Republic of South Sudan deposited with the Swiss Federal Council its instrument of accession to the four Geneva Conventions and to their three Additional Protocols.

Pursuant to Articles 62, respectively 61, 141 and 157 of the four Conventions, the accession by the Republic of South Sudan to the four Conventions and to their three Additional Protocols took effect on 25 January 2013.

ADDITIONAL PROTOCOLS I, II and III

II. Declaration by the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

On 7 January 2013, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland deposited with the Swiss Federal Council the following declarations (original version) concerning the applicability of the Protocols I, II and III Additional to the Geneva Conventions of 12 August 1949:

"Her Britannic Majesty's Embassy has the honor to declare, on behalf of the Government of the United Kingdom, that its ratification of the above Protocols extends to the Bailiwick of Jersey, in addition to the territories to which they have already been extended.

In this respect, both the statements lodged on 2 July 2002 in respect of the extension of Protocol I and the Government's declaration of 17 May 1999 in respect of recognition of the competence of the International Fact Finding Commission shall also apply."

Pursuant to an analogous application of their final provisions, the Protocols will become applicable to the concerned territory six months after the deposit of the declaration of extension, i.e. on 7 July 2013.

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland ratified the Protocols I and II on 28 January 1998 and the Protocol III on 23 October 2009.

III. Ratification by the Eastern Republic of Uruguay

On 19 October 2012, the Eastern Republic of Uruguay deposited with the Swiss Federal Council its instrument of ratification of the Protocol III.

Pursuant to its Article 11, paragraph 2, the Protocol will enter into force for the Eastern Republic of Uruguay six months after the deposit of the instrument, i.e. on 19 April 2013.

IV. Ratification by the Republic of Nauru

On 4 December 2012, the Republic of Nauru deposited with the Swiss Federal Council its instrument of ratification of the Protocol III.

Pursuant to its Article 11, paragraph 2, the Protocol will enter into force for the Republic of Nauru six months after the deposit of the instrument, i.e. on 4 June 2013.

The Swiss Federal Council makes the present notification in its capacity as depositary (www.eda.admin.ch/depositary) of the Geneva Conventions and Additional Protocols.

Berne, 7 February 2013

