

Federal Department of Foreign Affairs FDFA

242.512.0 - GEN 3/11

Notification to the Governments of the States parties to the Geneva Conventions of 12 August 1949 for the Protection of War Victims

ADDITIONAL PROTOCOLS I and II

I. Ratification by the Kingdom of Morocco

On 3 June 2011, the Kingdom of Morocco deposited with the Swiss Federal Council its instrument of ratification of the Protocols I and II.

Pursuant to their final provisions, the two Protocols will enter into force for the Kingdom of Morocco six months after the deposit of the instruments, i.e. on 3 December 2011.

ADDITIONAL PROTOCOLS I, II and III

II. Declarations by the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

On 15 June 2011, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland deposited with the Swiss Federal Council the following declarations (original version) concerning the applicability of the Protocols I, II and III Additional to the Geneva Conventions of 12 August 1949:

"Her Britannic Majesty's Embassy has the honor to declare, on behalf of the Government of the United Kingdom, that its ratification of Protocol III extends to the following territories for whose international relations it is responsible: Anguilla; Bailiwick of Guernsey; Bermuda; British Antarctic Territory; British Indian Ocean Territory; Cayman Islands; Falkland Islands; Isle of Man; Montserrat; Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands; South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands; St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha; Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia; Turks and Caicos Islands; Virgin Islands;

Her Britannic Majesty's Embassy also has the honor to declare, on behalf of the Government of the United Kingdom, that its ratification of Protocol I and II extends to the Bailiwick of Guernsey and the Isle of Man, in addition to the territories for whose international relations the United Kingdom is responsible and to which these Protocols were extended on 2 July 2002. In this respect, both the statements lodged on 2 July 2002 in respect of the extension of Protocol I, and the Government's declaration of recognition of 17 May 1999 in respect of the competence of the International Fact-Finding Commission, shall also apply to the territories to which Protocol I is now extended."

Pursuant to an analogous application of their final provisions, the Protocols will become applicable to the concerned territories six months after the deposit of the declaration of extension, i.e. on 15 December 2011.

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland ratified the Protocols I and II on 28 January 1998 and the Protocol III on 23 October 2009.

The Swiss Federal Council makes the present notification in its capacity as depositary (www.eda.admin.ch/depositary) of the Geneva Conventions and Additional Protocols.

Bern, 1st July 2011

