

FEDERAL DEPARTMENT OF FOREIGN AFFAIRS

P.242.512.0 GEN 7/06

Notification to the Governments of the States parties to the Geneva Conventions of 12 August 1949 for the Protection of War Victims

CONVENTIONS AND ADDITIONAL PROTOCOLS I AND II

I. Accession by the Republic of Nauru

On 27 June 2006, the Republic of Nauru deposited with the Swiss Federal Council its instrument of accession to the four Geneva Conventions of 12 August 1949 for the protection of War Victims and to the Additional Protocols I and II of 8 June 1977.

According to their final provisions, the Conventions and the Protocols I and II will enter into force for the Republic of Nauru six months after the deposit of the instrument of accession, i.e. on 27 December 2006.

ADDITIONAL PROTOCOL III

II. Signatures of the Protocol III

The Protocol III was recently signed by the following States:

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5)	Cyprus Hungary New Zealand Panama Canada	on 19 June 2006 on 19 June 2006 on 19 June 2006 on 19 June 2006 on 19 June 2006
(6) (7) (8) (9) (10)	Latvia Poland Romania Sierra Leone Ireland	on 20 June 2006 on 20 June 2006 on 20 June 2006 on 20 June 2006 on 20 June 2006
(11)	Ukraine	on 23 June 2006
(12)	Togo	on 26 June 2006
(13)	Nauru	on 27 June 2006

The Swiss Federal Council makes the present notification in its capacity as Depositary of the Geneva Conventions and according to articles 15 and 17 of Protocol III.

Berne, 29 June 2006

