

## FEDERAL DEPARTMENT OF FOREIGN AFFAIRS

P.242.512.0 P.242.512-SUDAN

GEN 4 / 06

Notification to the Governments of the States parties to the Geneva Conventions of 12 August 1949 for the Protection of War Victims

ADDITIONAL PROTOCOL I

## I. Accession by the Republic of Sudan

On 7 March 2006, the Republic of Sudan deposited with the Swiss Federal Council its instrument of accession to the Additional Protocol I.

According to its final provisions, the Protocol will enter into force for the Republic of Sudan six months after the deposit of the instrument of accession, i.e. on 7 September 2006.

## ADDITIONAL PROTOCOL III

## II. Signatures of the Protocol III

The Protocol Additional to the Geneva Conventions of 12 August 1949, and relating to the Adoption of an Additional Distinctive Emblem (Protocol III), done at Geneva on 8 December 2005, was recently signed by the following States:

(1)	Australia	on 8 March 2006
(2)	Nicaragua	on 8 March 2006
(3)	Republic of El Salvador	on 8 March 2006
(4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9)	Republic of the Philippines Argentine Republic Oriental Republic of Uruguay Federal Republic of Germany Republic of Honduras Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia	on 13 March 2006 on 13 March 2006

<ul> <li>(12)</li> <li>(13)</li> <li>(14)</li> <li>(15)</li> <li>(16)</li> </ul>	Brazil Republic of Angola Republic of Estonia Republic of Bulgaria Bosnia and Herzegovina Republic of Paraguay Kingdom of Nepal Kingdom of the Netherlands Finland	on 14 March 2006 on 14 March 2006
(18)	Finland Principality of Monaco	on 14 March 2006 on 15 March 2006

The updated list of the 49 States which have signed the Protocol III up to the present day is available on: <u>http://www.dfae.admin.ch/eda/f/home/foreign/intagr/train/iprotection.html</u> .

The Swiss Federal Council makes the present notification in its capacity as Depositary of the Geneva Conventions and their Additional Protocols.



Berne, 20 March 2006