

## FEDERAL DEPARTMENT OF FOREIGN AFFAIRS

P.242.512.0 GEN 2 / 05

## Notification to the Governments of the States parties to the Geneva Conventions of 12 August 1949 for the Protection of War Victims

## **ADDITIONAL PROTOCOL III**

On 8 December 2005, the Diplomatic Conference on the Adoption of a third Protocol Additional to the Geneva Conventions, which was held from 5 to 8 December 2005 in Geneva, adopted the Protocol Additional to the Geneva Conventions of 12 August 1949, and relating to the Adoption of an Additional Distinctive Emblem (Protocol III).

The Protocol III has been signed on the same day by the Plenipotentiaries of the 27 States named hereafter:

(1)	Austria	(10) Ecuador	(19) Madagascar
(2)	Belgium	(11) United States	(20) Malta
(3)	Bolivia	(12) France	(21) Norway
(4)	Burundi	(13) Greece	(22) Peru
(5)	Chile	(14) Guatemala	(23) Portugal
(6)	Colombia	(15) Israel	(24) United Kingdom
(7)	Republic of the Congo	(16) Italy	(25) Switzerland
(8)	Costa Rica	(17) Liechtenstein	(26) Tanzania
(9)	Denmark	(18) Luxembourg	(27) East Timor

The Protocol III, opened for signature on 8 December 2005, will remain open for signature, according to its article 8, for a period of twelve months, until 7 December 2006, at the Depositary in Berne.

## **COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE DEPOSITARY**

The Depositary will establish certified copies of the Protocol III, after having verified the eventual lacks of concordance of the six linguistic versions and proceeded in accordance with the Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties. Following the mandate issued by the

Diplomatic Conference, the Depositary will also draw up the final document which will summarize the course and the results of the Conference. The Depositary will transmit these files to the States parties by notification in the shortest possible time.

A special signing ceremony will be organized in Geneva upon the 62<sup>nd</sup> ordinary session of the Commission on Human Rights, on Monday 13 and Tuesday 14 March 2006. The States parties which wish to participate in this ceremony are kindly asked to notify the Depositary. All the States parties wishing to sign the Protocol III are kindly asked to submit in advance to the Depositary, for control purposes, the necessary specific full powers to sign the Protocol III. At the present time, besides the 27 aforementioned signatories, the 15 following States parties have already delivered valid full powers to sign the Protocol III:

(1)	Bosnia and Herzegovina	(6) Guinea	(11) Paraguay
(2)	Cape Verde	(7) Lebanon	(12) San Marino
(3)	Democratic Republic of	(8) Mali	(13) Senegal
	the Congo	(9) Mauritania	(14) Uruguay
(4)	Cote d'Ivoire	(10) Niger	(15) Zambia

All the States parties which delivered to the Depositary copies of full powers are kindly asked to submit the corresponding original documents as soon as possible.

For information, the following documents are enclosed with the present notification:

- Definitive list of the Diplomatic Conference participants (English/French);
- Result of the vote of the Diplomatic Conference on the amendments to the Draft Protocol III brought by Pakistan and Yemen (English and French);
- Result of the vote on the adoption of the Protocol III (English and French).

The Swiss Federal Council makes the present notification in its capacity as Depositary of the Geneva Conventions and according to article 15 of Protocol III.

**Enclosures** 

(5) Spain



Berne, 16 December 2005