Climate

Switzerland has four distinct seasons and its climate varies considerably from one region to the next due, first and foremost, to topography and differing altitudes.

The River Aare near Gösgen in autumn
The banks of the River Aare in autumn, Gösgen, canton of Solothurn © astrogator / flickr.com

Owing to its central location in Europe, Switzerland finds itself at the intersection of several major climate zones. The Swiss climate is strongly conditioned by the relatively nearby Atlantic. Winds from the Atlantic transport moist and mild maritime air towards the Alps. These westerly winds mean that both winter and summer are mild, but they also bring rain throughout the year.

Switzerland's topography and wide-ranging elevations make it a country of microclimates. Depending on where you are and the time of year, conditions can sometimes be Siberian, sometimes Mediterranean.

Temperatures

Temperatures are conditioned by altitude and vary considerably in Switzerland. The average temperature on the Swiss Plateau is 1°C in January and 17°C in July. Ticino generally enjoys temperatures that are 2 to 3°C higher than those of the Plateau. The average temperature at an elevation of 1,500 metres is around -5°C in January and 11°C in July. At this altitude, precipitation in winter tends to fall as snow. Snowfall is rare in the lowest regions of western Switzerland (greater Geneva area), northern Switzerland (Basel region) and in the far south of Ticino.

Alpine climate

The Alps act as a climatic divider between the north and south of Switzerland. The region has a multitude of complex microclimates, particularly in the valleys of Graubünden and Valais, which are especially dry. Another peculiarity of the Swiss climate is the “Foehn”. This down-slope wind blows over the Alps and keeps the climate very mild and dry from autumn to spring.

Climate change

Since the early 1990s, recorded annual temperatures in Switzerland are above the average. All of the warmest years on record since 1864 date from 2001 onward. The year 2015 broke all records.

Switzerland contributes to international efforts to keep global warming in check. The Federal Act on the Reduction of CO2 Emissions aims to cut greenhouse gas emissions by at least 20% as compared with 1990 levels, by 2020.

Climat

La Suisse compte quatre saisons bien marquées. Par ailleurs, les conditions climatiques varient fortement d’une région à l’autre, principalement en raison de la topographie et des différences d’altitude.

Les berges de l'Aar en automne, près de Gösgen
Les berges de l'Aar en automne, Gösgen, canton de Soleure. © astrogator / flickr.com

De par sa situation centrale au cœur de l’Europe, la Suisse est au croisement de plusieurs grandes zones climatiques. La proximité de l’océan Atlantique – dont la masse d’air humide est dirigée vers les Alpes – influence fortement le climat suisse. Ce courant d’ouest a pour effet de tempérer les hivers comme les étés. Par ailleurs, il apporte toute l’année des précipitations.

En raison de sa topographie et des fortes variations d’altitude, la Suisse compte un grand nombre de microclimats. Selon l’emplacement ou la période de l’année, il est possible d’expérimenter des conditions apparentées tantôt à la Sibérie, tantôt aux bords de la Méditerranée.

Températures

Les températures varient fortement en fonction de l’altitude. Les valeurs moyennes sur le Plateau se situent autour de 1 °C en janvier et de 17 °C en juillet.  Au Tessin, les températures sont généralement supérieures de 2 à 3 °C à celles du Plateau. A 1500 m d’altitude, les valeurs moyennes sont de -5 °C en janvier et 11 °C en juillet.  A cette altitude, les précipitations hivernales tombent essentiellement sous forme de neige. Les chutes de neige jusqu’en plaine sont rares dans les régions les plus basses de Suisse romande (région de Genève), au nord de la Suisse (région de Bâle) et dans l’extrême sud du Tessin.

Climat alpin

La chaîne des Alpes agit comme une barrière climatique majeure entre le nord et le sud de la Suisse. Elle abrite aussi une multitude de microclimats complexes, en particulier dans les vallées grisonnes et valaisannes, dont l’une des particularités est la sécheresse. Le foehn est une autre particularité du climat suisse. De l’automne au printemps, ce vent perpendiculaire aux Alpes produit des conditions très marquées de sécheresse et de douceur.

Réchauffement

Depuis le début des années 1990, les températures annuelles mesurées en Suisse sont supérieures à la moyenne: 8 des 10 années les plus chaudes enregistrées depuis 1864 sont postérieures à l’an 2000, l’année la plus chaude étant 2015.
La Suisse apporte sa contribution à l’objectif international consistant à limiter le réchauffement climatique. La loi sur le CO2 vise une réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre en Suisse d’au moins 20% en 2020, par rapport au niveau de 1990.