Skiing

Skiing is Switzerland's national sport. Imbued with alpine symbolism, skiing is an intrinsic part of the country's national identity.

Skiing down a mountain
The pleasure of skiing at the Meiringen-Hasliberg ski resort in the Bernese Oberland © swiss-image.ch / Christian Perret

Switzerland is the fifth most popular ski destination in the world. As well as being a favourite leisure pursuit for many Swiss people, skiing makes a major contribution to the economy of certain regions like Valais and Graubünden. Zermatt, Verbier, Davos, Laax and St. Moritz are Switzerland's most popular ski resorts.

The first ski clubs were founded in Glarus (1893), Bern (1900) and Zurich (1901). In the early part of the 20th century, skiers started to flock to places like Davos and St. Moritz. With the advent of ski lifts in the 1950s, skiing became a truly national sport, attracting visitors from home and abroad. The relatively recent winter sport of snowboarding is particularly popular among young people.

Swiss sportswomen and men excel in downhill skiing competitions, as well as in other winter sport disciplines such as ski jumping and snowboarding. To date, Swiss athletes have won a total of 59 Olympic medals in the downhill event, 12 in snowboarding and five in ski jumping. Switzerland has also won the Alpine Ski World Championships many times over. Carlo Janka, Lara Gut, Didier Cuche, Erika Hess, Vreni Schneider, Pirmin Zurbriggen and Bernhard Russi are among the best-known Swiss skiers of recent times.

Additional information

Ski

Le ski est une véritable tradition helvétique, associée aux montagnes et à l’imaginaire alpin ancré dans l’identité nationale.

Skieurs alpins en pleine descente
Le plaisir du ski dans la station de ski de Meiringen-Hasliberg, dans l'Oberland bernois. © swiss-image.ch / Christian Perret

La Suisse est la cinquième destination de ski la plus populaire du monde. Le ski est pratiqué par de nombreux habitants du pays et représente un apport économique essentiel à certaines régions, comme le Valais ou les Grisons. Les stations de ski qui accueillent le plus de skieurs sont Zermatt, Verbier, Davos, Laax et St-Moritz.

Les premiers clubs de ski ont été fondés à Glaris en 1893, à Berne en 1900 et à Zurich en 1901. Dès le début du 20e siècle, une série de stations de ski comme Davos et Saint-Moritz ont commencé à attirer des skieurs. A partir des années 1950 et l’installation des remontées mécaniques sur les pistes, le ski est devenu un sport véritablement populaire et un phénomène touristique de masse. Le snowboard est également très prisé, en particulier par les jeunes.

Les sportifs suisses excellent dans les compétitions de ski alpin et ses variantes comme le saut à ski ou le snowboard. A ce jour, la Suisse a remporté 59 médailles olympiques au ski alpin, 12 en snowboard et 5 en saut à ski. Les Suisses ont également remporté de nombreux championnats du monde de ski. Parmi les skieurs les plus connus de ces dernières décennies, on trouve Carlo Janka, Lara Gut, Didier Cuche, Erika Hess, Vreni Schneider, Pirmin Zurbriggen et Bernhard Russi.

Informations supplémentaires