Football

Football is the most popular sport in Switzerland. The country is also home to the headquarters of the most important international football federations, FIFA and UEFA.

Swiss national team, 2018 World Cup campaign
Swiss national team, 2018 World Cup campaign © ASF

There are 1,419 football clubs in Switzerland, with 268,000 licensed players (8% of whom are women), and 155,000 juniors.

Switzerland's premier men's football division is the Swiss Super League. The second-highest division is the Swiss Challenge League. Between July and May, ten teams compete in each of these leagues for the title of league champion. There is also the Swiss Cup, a tournament open to both the professional and amateur leagues.

Swiss football clubs have yet to enjoy any major success in European-level tournaments, although certain clubs like FC Basel regularly qualify for the group round of the Champions League. Founded in 1879, FC St. Gallen is Switzerland's oldest football club.

Switzerland hosted the 1954 World Cup and, together with Austria, hosted the UEFA European Championship in 2008. The Swiss national side has regularly played in major international competitions since 1994.

Switzerland's junior teams regularly qualify for the World Cup and UEFA European Championship, where they do extremely well. In 2009, the Swiss U-17 team won the Junior World Cup.

Switzerland is home to the headquarters of the two most important international football federations: FIFA (Fédération Internationale de Football Association) in Zurich, and UEFA (Union of European Football Associations) in Nyon.

Additional information

Le football

Le football est le sport préféré des Suisses. Le pays abrite les principales fédérations internationales du domaine, la FIFA et l’UEFA.

Equipe nationale suisse, campagne pour la coupe du monde 2018
Equipe nationale suisse, campagne pour la coupe du monde 2018 © ASF

La Suisse compte 1’419 clubs de football, 268’000 joueurs licenciés (dont 8% de femmes) et 155’000 juniors.

Le football d’élite masculin compte deux ligues: la Super League, la catégorie la plus élevée, et la Challenge League. Chacune des ligues compte dix équipes. Ces équipes s’affrontent pour remporter un championnat qui dure de juillet à mai, ainsi que pour gagner la Coupe de Suisse, un tournoi auquel des équipes de Première ligue et de ligues d’amateurs peuvent également participer.

Les clubs helvétiques jouent un rôle relativement mineur sur le plan européen, même si certains clubs, comme le FC Bâle, réussissent régulièrement à se qualifier pour la phase de groupe de la Champions League. Le FC Saint-Gall, fondé en 1879, est le plus ancien club de Suisse.

La Suisse a organisé la coupe du monde en 1954, ainsi que la coupe d’Europe de football en 2008, en partenariat avec l’Autriche. Depuis 1994, l’équipe nationale de football participe régulièrement aux grandes compétitions internationales.

Les équipes nationales juniors se qualifient régulièrement aux championnats du monde et d’Europe, où elles fournissent d’excellentes prestations. En 2009, l’équipe des joueurs de moins de 17 ans a gagné le championnat du monde.

Les deux principales organisations internationales de football ont établi leur siège en Suisse: la FIFA (Fédération Internationale de Football Association) à Zurich et l’UEFA (Union des Associations Européennes de Football) à Nyon.

Informations supplémentaires