Ice hockey

Ice hockey is very popular in Switzerland and matches are guaranteed stadium fillers.

Swiss national ice hockey team during a match
The Swiss ice hockey team © Swiss Ice Hockey

Switzerland has more than 1,160 ice hockey teams, which play a total of 16,000 matches each year. National League A games, in particular, are a major draw. Average match attendance rates are in excess of 6,760, one of the highest rates in Europe. The Bern Ice Skating Club (SCB) stadium has the best attendance figures in Europe, averaging 16,000 spectators for home matches. 

The premier ice-hockey division, the National League A, has 12 teams that play 50 matches per season. The eight best teams then compete in the best-of-seven play offs (knock-out round, quarter-finals, semi-finals and the final). 

HC Davos is the most successful Swiss ice hockey club, followed by SCB and HC Arosa. In 2009, ZSC Lions won the international Champions League. A handful of Swiss professionals play in the US National Hockey League (North America/Canada). 

In 2009, the Ice Hockey World Championship was held in Bern and Kloten. Davos hosts the annual Spengler Cup, an international tournament founded in 1923. The headquarters of the International Ice Hockey Federation is in Zurich. 

Grass hockey is also played in Switzerland - outside in summer, in sports halls in winter. The International Hockey Federation has its headquarters in Lausanne.

Hockey sur glace

Le hockey sur glace est l’un des sports préférés des Suisses, qui sont nombreux à assister aux matches dans les patinoires.

Equipe nationale suisse de hockey sur glace pendant un match
L'équipe de suisse de hockey sur glace © Swiss Ice Hockey

En Suisse, plus de 1160 équipes de hockey sur glace se disputent près de 16’000 matches par an. Les rencontres de ligue nationale sont très regardées: plus de 6760 personnes assistent en moyenne à chacun de ces matches, ce qui représente l’un des taux de fréquentation les plus élevés d’Europe. La patinoire du Club des patineurs de Berne est la plus fréquentée d’Europe, avec une moyenne de près de 16’000 spectateurs par match. 

La ligue nationale A, qui a le niveau le plus élevé, est composée de 12 équipes qui jouent 50 matches par saison. Les 8 meilleures équipes s’affrontent ensuite en play off (séries éliminatoires: quart de finale, demi-finale et finale), au meilleur des sept matches. 

Le HC Davos est le club le plus titré, suivi du CP Berne et du HC Arosa. Au niveau international, le ZSC Lions de Zurich a remporté la Ligue des Champions en 2009. Une poignée de joueurs suisses sont aussi actifs au sein de la National Hockey League (Amérique du Nord/Canada). 

En 2009, la Suisse a organisé à Berne et à Kloten les Championnats du monde de hockey sur glace. Davos accueille aussi chaque année la Spengler Cup, un tournoi international fondé en 1923. Par ailleurs, la Fédération Internationale de Hockey sur glace (IIHF) a son siège à Zurich. 

Le hockey sur gazon est également répandu en Suisse. Pratiqué en terrain extérieur en été, il se transforme en jeu de salle en hiver. La Fédération Internationale de Hockey (FIH) est basée à Lausanne.