Theatre

Each language region of Switzerland has a strong and vibrant dramatic arts’ tradition. The regional theatre communities actively foster close ties with neighbouring countries that share the same language.

Scene from the play "Les Misérables" on the Lake Thun Stage
“Les Misérables” based on the novel by Victor Hugo performed on the stage on Lake Thun. © thunerseespiele

Switzerland has several large theatres that are acclaimed both at home and further afield. Their renown is due in no small part to the work of dramatists Friedrich Dürrenmatt and Max Frisch. The influence of these two literary giants on Swiss contemporary theatre is still discernible today.

The most important theatres in German-speaking Switzerland are the Schauspielhaus Zürich, Zurich Opera House, Theater Basel, Stadttheater Bern, Luzerner Theater, Theater St. Gallen and Theater Winterthur. French-speaking Switzerland is home to the Grand Théâtre and La Comédie (both in Geneva), the Théâtre de Carouge and the Théatre Vidy (Lausanne), while the clown Dimitri runs his own theatre and drama school in Verscio (canton of Ticino). There is also an array of summer theatre festivals, including the Theaterspektakel in Zurich, Belluard Bollwerk International in Fribourg and La Bâtie in Geneva.

Werner Düggelin, Stephan Müller, Christoph Marthaler, Matthias Hartmann, Samuel Schwarz and Milo Rau are some of the most influential theatre directors working in German-speaking Switzerland. Elsewhere, Omar Porras and Robert Bouvier are two of the leading lights in French-speaking Switzerland, as is Daniele Finzi Pasca in Ticino.

Popular theatre

Every year, the towns of Altdorf and Interlaken stage certain 19th century works, such as the “Tellspiele” (William Tell plays). Einsiedeln hosts performances of the “Great World Theatre” by Spanish dramatist Calderón de la Barca every five years. Vevey stages its showpiece, the Fête des vignerons, every 20 years (the next is scheduled in 2019), while the Théâtre du Jorat in Mézières (canton of Vaud) has been performing its popular theatre repertoire since 1908.

Additional information

Théâtre

Chaque région linguistique de Suisse dispose d’une tradition théâtrale vivace, et cultive avant tout des liens avec les pays voisins appartenant au même espace linguistique.

«Les Misérables», sur la scène flottante du lac de Thoune
Les Misérables, d'après le roman de Victor Hugo, sur la scène flottante à Thoune. © thunerseespiele

La Suisse possède plusieurs grands théâtres dont la réputation a largement dépassé les frontières, grâce notamment à des dramaturges comme Max Frisch et Friedrich Dürrenmatt, qui ont fortement influencé le théâtre contemporain.

Parmi les théâtres importants en Suisse alémanique, il convient de mentionner le Schauspielhaus et l’Opernhaus de Zurich, le Theater Basel, le Stadttheater Bern, le Luzerner Theater, le Theater St. Gallen et le Theater Winterthur. En Suisse romande, le Grand Théâtre et la Comédie de Genève, le Théâtre de Carouge et le Théâtre de Vidy à Lausanne sont parmi les plus connus. Au Tessin, le clown Dimitri a ouvert son propre théâtre et une école de théâtre à Verscio. Il existe également des festivals de théâtre durant l’été, comme le Theaterspektakel de Zurich, le Festival du Belluard à Fribourg et le Festival de la Bâtie à Genève.

Parmi les metteurs en scène les plus influents aujourd’hui en Suisse, on peut citer Werner Düggelin, Stephan Müller, Christoph Marthaler, Matthias Hartmann, Samuel Schwarz et Milo Rau en Suisse alémanique, Omar Porras et Robert Bouvier en Suisse romande, ou Daniele Finzi Pasca pour la Suisse italienne.

Théâtre populaire

Certaines œuvres créées au 19e siècle, comme les «Tellspiele» (Jeux de Guillaume Tell), sont repris chaque année à Altdorf et à Interlaken. C’est également le cas des représentations du «Grand théâtre du monde» de Calderon, lesquelles se déroulent cependant environ tous les cinq ans à Einsiedeln. En Suisse romande, la «Fête des vignerons» de Vevey déploie ses fastes tous les vingt ans (la prochaine est prévue en 2019). Quant au Théâtre du Jorat, à Mézières, des œuvres du répertoire populaire y sont présentées chaque été depuis 1908.

Informations supplémentaires