Dance

Switzerland has a vibrant classical and contemporary dance scene.

Scene from the ballet "The Rite of Spring"
“The Rite of Spring”, choreographed by Maurice Béjart. © Béjart Ballet Lausanne

Dance as an art form initially became established in Switzerland with classical ballet, when a large number of dancers and choreographers from abroad settled in Switzerland during the First and Second World Wars. Switzerland currently has six institutional ballet companies, in Basel, Zurich, Geneva, Bern, Lucerne and St. Gallen as well as the privately run Béjart Ballet, in Lausanne. Since the 1980s, the arrival of independent companies and individual artists has brought new forms of contemporary dance to Switzerland. The country now has around one hundred dance troupes.

Zurich Ballet, the Béjart Ballet in Lausanne, the Philippe Saire company and the choreographers Heinz Spoerli and Gilles Jobin are renowned worldwide for their work. Switzerland also hosts a number of dance festivals, such as the Berner Tanztage, the Oltener Tanztage, La Bâtie in Geneva, ‘Steps’ (which tours the country), and the Zürcher Theaterspektakel.

The annual Prix de Lausanne, which was created in 1973, recognises up-and-coming young dancers from around the world. Previous winners of the award, which includes scholarships to train at prestigious ballet schools, has gone on to have hugely successful careers.

Danse

La Suisse compte une scène de la danse très variée, à la fois classique et contemporaine.

Scène du ballet «Le Sacre du printemps»
«Le Sacre du printemps», chorégraphie de Maurice Béjart. © Béjart Ballet Lausanne

La danse helvétique a d’abord connu son essor dans le domaine du ballet classique, notamment grâce aux nombreux danseurs, danseuses et chorégraphes qui se sont installés dans le pays durant les deux guerres mondiales. La Suisse compte aujourd’hui six ballets institutionnels (Bâle, Zurich, Genève, Berne, Lucerne, St-Gall), ainsi que le Béjart Ballet Lausanne. Dès les années 1980, des compagnies libres et des artistes individuels ont développé d’autres styles de danse. Il existe désormais une centaine de compagnies de danse en Suisse.

Le ballet de Zurich, le Béjart Ballet Lausanne, la compagnie Philippe Saire et les chorégraphes Heinz Spoerli ou Gilles Jobin ont tous généré des oeuvres reconnues sur le plan international. La Suisse héberge également plusieurs festivals de danse, comme les Berner Tanztage, les Oltener Tanztage, la Bâtie à Genève, Steps dans diverses salles du pays ou le Zürcher Theaterspektakel.

Le Prix de Lausanne, une compétition créée en 1973, récompense chaque année des jeunes danseurs prometteurs du monde entier. Il leur octroie des bourses d’étude dans de prestigieuses écoles de ballet et a servi de tremplin à plusieurs étoiles.