Painting and object art

Some of the most influential members of the Romantic and Bauhaus movements were Swiss. Swiss artists were also at the forefront of the Concrete Art movement.

Nanas by Niki de Saint Phalle at the Leineufer in Hanover
Niki de Saint Phalle's "Nanas", Hanover © Jürgen Götzke

Romanticism, which emerged during the 18th century, is one of the most important eras in Switzerland’s art history. Exponents like Caspar Wolf, Johann Heinrich Füssli, François Diday and Alexandre Calame celebrated the beauty of nature in its wild and primitive state. The symbolist mountain landscapes of Arnold Böcklin and Ferdinand Hodler, or the naturalist depictions of peasant life by Albert Anker brought a new dimension to traditional Romantic art.

At the end of the 18th century, the Winterthur artist Anton Graff was one of the most sought-after and influential portrait painters in the German-speaking world. So much so, he was asked by the royal House of Saxony in Dresden to become its official court painter. Graff and his fellow countryman, Adrian Zingg, a painter and copper engraver, drew inspiration for their work from “Saxon Switzerland”. In doing so, they became the founding fathers of the Romantic landscape painting movement in Germany.

At the end of the 19th century, Swiss art began to diverge in different directions, though it continued to focus on landscape painting, as evidenced by the works of Giovanni Giacometti, Paul Klee, Cuno Amiet and Felix Valloton.

In 1916, the avant-garde movement “Dada” was born in Zurich. At the heart was the Cabaret Voltaire and a group of artists that included Hugo Ball, Emmy Hennig, Hans Arp, Sophie Taeuber-Arp and Tristan Tzara. Founded in reaction to the horrors of the First World War, the movement paved the way for the Bauhaus school, which heavily influenced the work of Johannes Itten and Paul Klee.

In the 1940s, Zurich once again provided the backdrop for an emerging new movement, concrete art, which was promoted and developed by local artist Max Bill. In the post-war years, several Swiss artists enjoyed international renown, such as the Hyperrealist Franz Gertsch, the abstract artist Rolf Iseli, the Surrealist artist Meret Oppenheim, the lithographer Hans Erni, as well as performance and object artists like Dieter Roth and Daniel Spörri.

A new generation of Swiss artists began to emerge towards the end the 20th century, such as John Armleder, Sylvie Fleury, Peter Fischli & David Weiss, Roman Signer, Pipilotti Rist and Thomas Hirschhorn. Rather than devoting themselves to the traditional paint-on-canvas approach, they use multimedia and a range of forms, including collages and found objects, in their work.

Peinture et arts plastiques

Les peintres suisses ont imprimé leur marque sur le courant romantique et le Bauhaus. Ils ont aussi créé le mouvement de l’Art concret.

Les Nanas de Niki de Saint Phalle au bord de la Leine, Hannovre
«Nanas» de Niki de Saint Phalle, Hanovre. © Jürgen Götzke

Le romantisme, apparu au cours du 18e siècle, est l’un des courants picturaux majeurs de la production artistique helvétique. Il met en avant la beauté de la nature, dans son état sauvage et primitif, sous le pinceau d’artistes comme Caspar Wolf, Johann Heinrich Füssli, François Diday ou Alexandre Calame. Les paysages symbolistes d’Arnold Böcklin comme de Ferdinand Hodler, ainsi que les scènes paysannes naturalistes d’Albert Anker, trouvent également leurs origines dans ce mouvement, tout en ouvrant déjà des directions nouvelles.

Engagé à la cour de Saxe, Anton Graff est l’un des portraitistes les plus recherchés et les plus marquants d’Allemagne à la fin du 18e siècle. Tout comme lui, le peintre et graveur Adrian Zingg découvre la Suisse saxonne comme motif artistique et contribue, par ses œuvres, à la naissance de la conception romantique de la nature en Allemagne.

A la fin du 19e siècle, la peinture suisse se diversifie tout en conservant un intérêt majeur pour la question du paysage, comme en attestent notamment les œuvres de Giovanni Giacometti, Paul Klee, Cuno Amiet ou encore Felix Vallotton.

En 1916, le mouvement avant-gardiste Dada a vu le jour à Zurich, autour du Cabaret Voltaire et des artistes Hugo Bell, Emmy Henning, Hans Arp, Sophie Taeuber-Arp et Tristan Tzara. Fondé en réaction aux horreurs de la première guerre mondiale, il a ouvert la voie au courant Bauhaus, très présent dans les oeuvres de Johannes Itten et Paul Klee.

Dans les années 1940, Zurich a vu naître l’art concret autour de l’artiste Max Bill. Après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, plusieurs peintres suisses ont acquis une renommée internationale, comme l’hyperréaliste Franz Gertsch, l’artiste abstrait Rolf Iseli, la surréaliste Meret Oppenheim, le lithographe Hans Erni ou les plasticiens Dieter Roth et Daniel Spoerri.

La fin du 20e siècle a vu émerger une nouvelle génération d’artistes suisses, comme John Armleder, Sylvie Fleury, Peter Fischli & David Weiss, Roman Signer, Pipilotti Rist ou Thomas Hirschhorn. Ils se sont éloignés d’une stricte forme picturale pour privilégier la vidéo, les collages ou l’assemblage d’objets divers.