Film

The Swiss film industry is primarily known for its documentaries. However, in the last few years a number of feature films have enjoyed considerable success, such as Heidi, Mein Name ist Eugen and Sister.

Two young people standing next to a country road
The film “Sister” by the director Ursula Meier, released in 2012. © EDA, Präsenz Schweiz

Swiss cinematic output is characterised by its strong emphasis on a descriptive and often critical take on life in Switzerland. Twentieth century film-making in Switzerland can be classified into four key periods: Swiss-German silent films (1915–1919), Swiss-French silent films (1919–1924), classic inter- and post-war films (1930–1964) and contemporary output (since 1964). 

In the 1960s, Switzerland saw the arrival of ’New Swiss Cinema’, which emerged at the same time as the French New Wave movement. It heralded a break with previous cinematic tradition by establishing a new and more reality-driven aesthetic. The leading exponents were the Swiss-French filmmakers Alain Tanner, Claude Goretta and Michel Soutter. 

A number of feature films have enjoyed international renown, including Les petites fugues (The Wild Oats) by Yves Yersin (1979), Die Schweizermacher  (The Swissmakers) by Rolf Lyssy (1978) and Höhenfeuer  (Alpine Heights) by Fredi M. Murer (1985). Xavier Koller’s Film Reise der Hoffnung (Journey of Hope) won the Oscar for Best Foreign Film in 1991. 

In the field of documentary film, War Photographer (2002) by Christian Frei was nominated for an Oscar, and Markus Imhoof’s More Than Honey (2012) received a number of awards in different countries, as well as being selected as the best Swiss documentary film of all time. Other successful Swiss films that have sold 500,000 tickets at the box office include Grounding (2006), which documents the final days of the Swiss airline, Swissair, and Mein Name ist Eugen (2005). Jean-Stéphane Bron also came to international attention with his films Mais im Bundeshuus (2003) and L’Experience Blocher (2013), as did Ursula Meier with Home (2008) and Sister (2012) and Xavier Koller with Die schwarzen Brüder (2013). Alain Gsponser’s latest remake of the children’s classic Heidi (2015) has become Switzerland’s most successful feature film at home and abroad. 

The Swiss film industry receives public financial support (primarily from the Confederation and the cantons), the Swiss Broadcasting Corporation SRG-SSR, foundations, firms and private donors. Swiss Films is the agency in charge of promoting Swiss films and supporting their international distribution. Since 1998 the Confederation annually holds the Swiss Film Awards. Switzerland also hosts a number of film festivals, including the Locarno International Film Festival, the documentary film festival, Visions du Réel, in Nyon, the Solothurn Film Festival, the Neuchâtel International Fantastic Film Festival, as well as the Zurich Film Festival, which was launched in 2005.

Cinéma

Le cinéma suisse est avant tout connu pour ses documentaires. Plusieurs fictions ont cependant rencontré un succès important en Suisse ces dernières années, comme Heidi, Mon nom est Eugène ou Sister.

Deux jeunes au bord d'une route
Le film «Sister» de la cinéaste Ursula Meier, sorti en 2012. © EDA, Präsenz Schweiz

Le cinéma helvétique se caractérise par un fort accent mis sur la description, souvent critique, de la vie en Suisse. On peut identifier quatre grandes périodes qui ont marqué la production cinématographique helvétique au cours du XXe siècle: les films muets alémaniques (1915–1919), les films muets romands (1919–1924), les films classiques de l’entre-deux-guerres et de l’après-guerre (1930–1964) et la production contemporaine (après 1964). 

Apparu dans les années 1960, en même temps que la Nouvelle vague française, un courant appelé «Nouveau cinéma suisse» a provoqué une cassure artistique, en imposant une nouvelle esthétique, plus proche du réel. Ses chefs de file sont Alain Tanner, Claude Goretta et Michel Soutter. 

Plusieurs longs-métrages de fiction ont acquis une renommée internationale, comme Les petites fugues d’Yves Yersin (1979), Les faiseurs de Suisses de Rolf Lyssy (1978) et L’Âme-sœur de Fredi M. Murer (1985). On mentionnera également Voyage vers l’espoir, de Xavier Koller, qui a remporté l’Oscar du meilleur film étranger en 1991. 

Dans la catégorie documentaires, War Photographer de Christian Frei a été nommé aux Oscars en 2002. En 2012,More than Honey de Markus Imhoof a été récompensé dans de nombreux pays et a été consacré meilleur film documentaire suisse de tous les temps.  Parmi les autres films suisses à succès, on peut citer Grounding (2006), qui retrace les derniers jours de la compagnie aérienne Swissair, et Mon nom est Eugène (2005), qui a réalisé 500 000 entrées. Les réalisateurs Jean-Stéphane Bron (Le génie helvétique, 2003, L’Expérience Blocher, 2013), Ursula Meier (Home, 2008, et Sister 2012) et Xavier Koller (Les frères noirs, 2013) ont eux aussi bénéficié d’une reconnaissance internationale. La nouvelle adaptation cinématographique du classique pour enfants Heidi (2015) d’Alain Gsponer a été plébiscitée par le public en Suisse et à l’étranger. 

Le cinéma suisse est financé par les pouvoirs publics (principalement la Confédération et les cantons), la Société suisse de radio et télévision SRG SSR, des fondations, des entreprises et des personnes privées. L’organisme Swiss Films se charge de promouvoir les films helvétiques et de soutenir leur diffusion internationale. Un Prix cinématographique suisse est décerné chaque année depuis 1998 par la Confédération. Plusieurs festivals mettent le cinéma à l’honneur en Suisse: le Festival international du film de Locarno, le festival du film documentaire Visions du Réel de Nyon, les Journées de Soleure, le Festival du film fantastique de Neuchâtel et le Zurich Film Festival.