Design

Iconic Swiss designs like the pocket knife, the Helvetica typeface and the Swatch watch all have one thing in common: their combination of functionality and understated elegance.

The Swiss railway clock designed by Hans Hilfiker
The Swiss railway clock designed by Hans Hilfiker. © FDFA, Presence Switzerland

Swiss design is characterised by a minimalist aesthetic that places functionality and attention to detail at the forefront. Its origins lie in the post-war years when simple solutions were needed to the problems that arose in Switzerland’s newly industrialising society. But Swiss design also has its roots in the country’s long lithographical tradition that dates back to the latter half of the 19th century.

Iconic examples of Swiss design include the typefaces Helvetica and Frutiger, the Rex economy vegetable peeler, the Swiss army pocket knife, the Swatch watch, the stackable ‘Landi’ chair, Eternit garden furniture, the ‘Loop’ chair, Jürg Bally’s three-legged table, the cloud lamp by Susi and Ueli Berger, and the Swiss railway clock by Hans Hilfiker. More recent icons are the Freitag shoulder bags made from recycled lorry tarps, and Nespresso coffee capsules. Switzerland has also made a name for itself as one of leading centres for video game design.

Switzerland has three major design schools: the Geneva University of Art and Design (HEAD), Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK) and the University of Art and Design, Lausanne (ECAL). Switzerland also has two design museums: mudac – Musée de design et d’arts appliqués contemporains in Lausanne, and the Museum für Gestaltung in Zurich.

Every three years the Federal Office of Culture awards the “Grand Prix Design”, as well as some 20 individual Swiss design awards. There is also the biennial Design Prize Switzerland, launched in 1991, which recognises the work by Swiss designers, firms and institutions or foreign designers working in Switzerland.

Design

Le couteau de poche, la police Helvetica ou la montre Swatch font partie des icônes du design suisse. Celui-ci se caractérise par sa sobriété fonctionnelle.

Horloge de gare réalisée par Hans Hilfiker
Horloge de gare de Hans Hilfiker. © DFAE, Présence Suisse

Le design suisse se distingue par une esthétique minimaliste, une approche privilégiant la fonctionnalité et le soin apporté aux détails. Apparu durant l’après-guerre, il a été influencé par la recherche de solutions simples aux problèmes posés par une société nouvellement industrialisée. Il est également l’héritier d’une longue tradition de lithographie suisse, née dans la seconde moitié du 19e siècle.

Parmi les icônes du design suisse figurent les polices de caractère Helvetica et Frutiger, l’éplucheur Rex, le couteau de poche, la montre Swatch, les chaises empilables Landi, le mobilier de jardin Eternit, la chaise Loop, la table à trois pieds de Jürg Bally, la lampe nuage de Susi et Ueli Berger ou l’horloge de gare de Hans Hilfiker. Plus récemment, les designers helvétiques ont créé les sacs en toile de bâche Freitag et les capsules Nespresso. La Suisse se profile également comme l’une des principales places pour le design des jeux vidéo.

La Suisse a trois grandes écoles de design: la Haute école d’art et de design Genève (HEAD), la Zürcher Hochschule der Kunst (ZHdK) et La Haute école d’arts appliqués de Lausanne (ECAL). Le pays compte aussi deux musées consacrés au design: Le Musée de design et d’arts appliqués de Lausanne (mudac) et le Museum für Gestaltung de Zurich.

L’Office fédéral de la culture décerne chaque année trois Grands Prix de design et environ vingt Prix suisses de design. Par ailleurs, le Prix Design Suisse est un concours biennal qui récompense depuis 1991 des travaux de designers, d’entreprises et d’institutions suisses ou ayant une activité en Suisse.