Funding and Support Policy

By supporting and funding research, Switzerland seeks to secure its status as one of the world’s most innovative countries. Public research funding hinges mainly on the proactive work of researchers, the principle of competition and quality-based funding criteria.

Laboratory technician at work
© FDFA, Presence Switzerland

In terms of public research support and funding, the Confederation finances the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) and the Swiss Innovation Agency (Innosuisse). It also supports research institutes within the ETH domain as well as non-university research centres. The cantons support research in their role as funding bodies of tier-one universities and universities of applied sciences.

The Federal Council considers education, research and innovation (ERI) to be a priority policy sector. Total planned federal expenditure for ERI over the 2013-2016 period stands at around CHF 26 billion.

In 2017 the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) invested a total of CHF 1,037 million in research. The budget was distributed as follows: 23% for humanities and social sciences; 38% for mathematics, natural sciences and engineering; 39% for biology and medicine.

The largest research programmes are part of the national centres of competence in research (NCCR), which promote research in areas of strategic importance for Switzerland. In 2017 the SNSF invested a total of CHF 514.6 million in 909 NCCR projects. Other SNSF research programmes are the national research programmes (51 projects with an investment of CHF 25.4 million) and Synergia (33 projects with an investment of CHF 70.7 million).

Innosuisse – The Swiss Innovation Agency promotes science-based innovation in the interests of industry and society. It supports innovative projects, provides training and coaching for start-ups, and facilitates the transfer of knowledge and technology.  In 2017, federal subsidies totalling CHF 132.1 million were used to fund 414 projects.

Finanzierungs- und Förderungspolitik

Die Schweiz verfolgt mit ihrer Forschungsförderung das Ziel, weiterhin eines der innovativsten Länder der Welt zu bleiben. Die öffentliche Forschungsfinanzierung setzt auf die Eigeninitiative der Forschenden, das Wettbewerbsprinzip und qualitative Förderkriterien.

Laborantin bei der Arbeit
© EDA, Präsenz Schweiz

  • In der öffentlichen Forschungsförderung ist der Bund zuständig für die Finanzierung des Schweizerischen Nationalfonds (SNF) und der Schweizerischen Agentur für Innovationsförderung (Innosuisse). Auch unterstützt er die Forschungseinrichtungen des ETH-Bereichs sowie weitere, ausserhalb der Hochschulen angesiedelte Forschungsstätten. Die Kantone engagieren sich vor allem als Träger der Universitäten und Fachhochschulen.
  • Für den Bund gehört die Finanzierung von Bildung, Forschung und Innovation (BFI) zu den vorrangigen politischen Zielen. Die geplanten BFI-Investitionen des Bundes belaufen sich im Zeitraum 2017–2020 auf rund 26 Milliarden Franken.
  • 2017 hat der Schweizerische Nationalfonds (SNF) Förderungsbeträge von insgesamt 1037 Millionen Franken zugesprochen. 23% dieses Betrages entfallen auf die Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften, 38% auf Mathematik, Natur- und Ingenieurwissenschaften, sowie 39% auf Biologie und Medizin.
  • Die bedeutendsten Forschungsprogramme sind in den Nationalen Forschungsschwerpunkten (NFS) zusammengefasst, womit die Schweizer Forschung in Bereichen von strategischer Bedeutung gefördert wird. Im Jahr 2017 hat der SNF 909 NFS-Projekte im Betrag von 514,6 Millionen Franken finanziert. Weitere Forschungsprogramme des SNF sind die Nationalen Forschungsprogramme (51 Projekte für 25,4 Millionen Franken) oder Synergia (33 Projekte für 70,7 Millionen Franken).
  • Innosuisse - Die Schweizerische Agentur für Innovationsförderung fördert die wissenschaftsbasierte Innovation im Interesse von Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft. Sie unterstützt Innovationsprojekte, bietet Start-ups Trainings und Coachings an und fördert den Transfer von Wissen und Technologie. Im Jahr 2017 wurden 414 Projekte mit einem Bundesbeitrag von 132.1 Millionen Franken unterstützt.