Football

Football is the most popular sport in Switzerland. The country is also home to the headquarters of the most important international football federations, FIFA and UEFA.

Swiss national team, 2018 World Cup campaign
Swiss national team, 2018 World Cup campaign © ASF

There are 1,419 football clubs in Switzerland, with 268,000 licensed players (8% of whom are women), and 155,000 juniors.

Switzerland's premier men's football division is the Swiss Super League. The second-highest division is the Swiss Challenge League. Between July and May, ten teams compete in each of these leagues for the title of league champion. There is also the Swiss Cup, a tournament open to both the professional and amateur leagues.

Swiss football clubs have yet to enjoy any major success in European-level tournaments, although certain clubs like FC Basel regularly qualify for the group round of the Champions League. Founded in 1879, FC St. Gallen is Switzerland's oldest football club.

Switzerland hosted the 1954 World Cup and, together with Austria, hosted the UEFA European Championship in 2008. The Swiss national side has regularly played in major international competitions since 1994.

Switzerland's junior teams regularly qualify for the World Cup and UEFA European Championship, where they do extremely well. In 2009, the Swiss U-17 team won the Junior World Cup.

Switzerland is home to the headquarters of the two most important international football federations: FIFA (Fédération Internationale de Football Association) in Zurich, and UEFA (Union of European Football Associations) in Nyon.

Additional information

Fussball

Fussball ist die beliebteste Sportart in der Schweiz. Zudem haben sich die wichtigsten internationalen Verbände FIFA und die UEFA in der Schweiz niedergelassen.

Schweizer Nationalmannschaft, Kampagne für den Weltcup 2018
Schweizer Nationalmannschaft, Kampagne für den Weltcup 2018 © SFV

In der Schweiz gibt es 1’419 Fussballclubs, 268’000 lizenzierte Spieler (8% davon Frauen) und 155’000 Junioren.

Im Profi-Fussball der Männer gibt es zwei Ligen mit der Super League als oberste Spielklasse und der Challenge League. Beide Ligen bestehen aus je zehn Mannschaften, die von Juli bis Mai um die Landesmeisterschaft und um den Schweizer Cup kämpfen. Zu den Spielen um den Schweizer Cup sind auch Mannschaften der unteren Amateur-Ligen zugelassen.

Auf europäischem Niveau spielen die Schweizer Fussballclubs nur eine bescheidene Rolle, auch wenn sich gewisse Clubs wie der FC Basel regelmässig für die Gruppenspiele der Champions League qualifizieren. Der 1879 gegründete FC St. Gallen ist der älteste Fussballclub der Schweiz.

1954 hat die Schweiz die Weltmeisterschaft und 2008 zusammen mit Österreich die Europameisterschaft organisiert. Seit 1994 spielt die Schweizer Fussball-Nationalmannschaft regelmässig in den grossen internationalen Wettkämpfen mit.

Die Junioren-Mannschaften qualifizieren sich regelmässig für die Welt- und Europameisterschaft, wo sie mit hervorragenden Resultaten glänzen. Im Jahr 2009 hat die Schweizer Nationalmannschaft der U-17-Junioren die Weltmeisterschaft gewonnen.

Die beiden wichtigsten internationalen Fussballverbände haben sich mit ihren Hauptsitzen in der Schweiz niedergelassen: Die FIFA (Internationale Föderation des Verbandsfussballs) in Zürich und die UEFA (Vereinigung Europäischer Fussballverbände) in Nyon. 

Weiterführende Informationen