Dance

Switzerland has a vibrant classical and contemporary dance scene.

Scene from the ballet "The Rite of Spring"
“The Rite of Spring”, choreographed by Maurice Béjart. © Béjart Ballet Lausanne

Dance as an art form initially became established in Switzerland with classical ballet, when a large number of dancers and choreographers from abroad settled in Switzerland during the First and Second World Wars. Switzerland currently has six institutional ballet companies, in Basel, Zurich, Geneva, Bern, Lucerne and St. Gallen as well as the privately run Béjart Ballet, in Lausanne. Since the 1980s, the arrival of independent companies and individual artists has brought new forms of contemporary dance to Switzerland. The country now has around one hundred dance troupes.

Zurich Ballet, the Béjart Ballet in Lausanne, the Philippe Saire company and the choreographers Heinz Spoerli and Gilles Jobin are renowned worldwide for their work. Switzerland also hosts a number of dance festivals, such as the Berner Tanztage, the Oltener Tanztage, La Bâtie in Geneva, ‘Steps’ (which tours the country), and the Zürcher Theaterspektakel.

The annual Prix de Lausanne, which was created in 1973, recognises up-and-coming young dancers from around the world. Previous winners of the award, which includes scholarships to train at prestigious ballet schools, has gone on to have hugely successful careers.

Tanz

In der Schweiz gibt es eine sehr vielfältige klassische und zeitgenössische Tanz-Szene.

Szenenbild aus dem Ballett «Le Sacre du printemps»
«Le Sacre du printemps» (dt: Die Frühlingsweihe), Choreographie von Maurice Béjart. © Béjart Ballet Lausanne

Der Tanz als künstlerischer Ausdruck hat sich in der Schweiz zunächst im klassischen Ballett etabliert, namentlich dank der zahlreichen Tänzerinnen, Tänzer und Choreographen, die sich zur Zeit des I. und II. Weltkriegs in der Schweiz niedergelassen haben. Derzeit gibt es sechs institutionelle Ballettkompanien in Basel, Zürich, Genf, Bern, Luzern und St. Gallen sowie das private Béjart Ballett in Lausanne. Seit den 1980er Jahren sind ausserdem eine Reihe freier Kompanien entstanden, die modernes Tanztheater ins Land gebracht haben. Derzeit gibt es rund 100 verschiedene Gruppen in der Schweiz.

Das Zürcher Ballett, das Béjart Ballet in Lausanne, die Kompanie Philippe Saire und die Choreographen Heinz Spoerli oder Gilles Jobin haben Werke von internationalem Ruf hervorgebracht. In der Schweiz gibt es mehrere Tanzfestivals, wie beispielsweise die Berner Tanztage, die Oltener Tanztage, die Bâtie in Genf, «Steps» an mehreren Orten der Schweiz und das Zürcher Theaterspektakel.

Der Prix de Lausanne, 1973 ins Leben gerufen, zeichnet jedes Jahr junge vielversprechende Tanztalente der ganzen Welt aus. Vergeben werden Stipendien für die Ausbildung bei renommierten Kompanien, was bereits mehreren Stars als Sprungbrett gedient hat.