Music

While traditional music remains very popular in rural areas, different kinds of contemporary music have a sizeable audience in Switzerland, as borne out by the phenomenal rise in music festivals over the last few decades. Two out of three people in Switzerland go to a concert or a musical performance during the year, and one in five play a musical instrument.

A Schwyzerörgeli, a type of accordion
A Schwyzerörgeli, a type of accordion © Imagepoint.biz

Traditional music

Traditional music has its roots in mountain farming communities. Typical instruments are the Alphorn, the “Schwyzerörgeli”, a special type of accordion, and the “Hackbrett” (hammered dulcimer). Yodelling is a form of singing, which was originally used to call the cows home and to communicate from one alpine farm to the next. It is also the centrepiece of Swiss traditional music. Every region of Switzerland has countless ensembles, brass bands, choirs and traditional music groups foster this tradition and regularly perform at traditional music festivals. Every four years, 10,000 musicians from around the country flock to the Federal Festival of Traditional Music.

Classical music and opera

Switzerland’s most famous composers and conductors include Joachim Raff (1822–1882), Ernest Bloch (1880–1959), Ernest Ansermet (1883–1969), Othmar Schoeck (1886–1957) and Arthur Honegger (1892–1955). The leading orchestras in Switzerland today are the Orchestre de la Suisse romande in Geneva and the Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich. Many Swiss towns and cities have their own opera house, with those of Geneva and Zurich enjoying international acclaim.

The Paul Sacher Foundation in Basel preserves the musical heritage of great composers and performers and runs an international research centre for 20th and 21st century music. There are two major classical music competitions: the  Geneva International Music Competition and the Géza Anda Competition in Zurich.

Rock, Pop, Jazz, Electro, Hip hop

Many Swiss performers have an international following and have helped write Swiss musical history – names like Mani Matter (1936–1972), whose songs in the Bernese dialect have provided the soundtrack for several generations, or the Zurich duo Yello, who were at the avant-garde of the electronic music scene in the 1980s. The Lausanne group, Sens Unik, were pioneers of French-language hip hop and the Basel native George Gruntz (1932–2013) was one of the most respected jazz musicians of recent times.

The current crop of musicians and groups which have enjoyed considerable success both in Switzerland and elsewhere include Stephan Eicher, Gotthard, Krokus, Michael von der Heide, Andreas Vollenweider, DJ Bobo, DJ Antoine, Erik Truffaz, Stress, Heidi Happy, Sophie Hunger and Bastian Baker.

In March every year the Swiss Music Awards celebrates the successes of home-grown musical talent.

Additional information

Musik

Die Volksmusik ist vor allem in den ländlichen Regionen nach wie vor sehr weit verbreitet. Aber auch moderne Musikrichtungen geniessen einen bedeutenden Stellenwert in der Schweiz, was zum Beispiel am enormen Aufschwung der Festivals in den letzten Jahrzehnten ablesbar ist. Zwei von drei Einwohnern besuchen im Laufe des Jahres mindestens ein Konzert oder eine sonstige musikalische Darbietung, und einer von fünf Einwohnern spielt ein Musikinstrument.

Schwyzerörgeli, eine spezielle Handorgel
Ein Schwyzerörgeli, eine spezielle Handorgel. © Imagepoint.biz

Volksmusik

Die traditionelle Volksmusik hat ihren Ursprung im bäuerlichen Leben in den Berggebieten. Typische Instrumente der Schweizer Volksmusik sind das Alphorn, das Schwyzerörgeli, eine besondere Form des Akkordeons, oder das Hackbrett. Der Jodel ist eine Gesangsart, die früher dem Herbeirufen des Viehs und der Verständigung zwischen verschiedenen Alpen diente, und ist das Herzstück der traditionellen Volksmusik. Unzählige Ensembles, Blaskapellen, Chöre und Ländlerformationen pflegen nach wie vor die Volksmusik in allen Regionen der Schweiz und treten regelmässig an Volksfesten auf, wie etwa am eidgenössischen Volksmusikfest, das alle vier Jahre mit zehntausenden Teilnehmern stattfindet.

Klassische Musik und Oper

Unter den bekanntesten Komponisten und Dirigenten finden sich Namen wie Joachim Raff (1822–1882), Ernest Bloch (1880–1959), Ernest Ansermet (1883–1969), Othmar Schoeck (1886–1957) oder Arthur Honegger (1892–1955). Die bedeutendsten Orchester der Gegenwart sind das Orchestre de la Suisse romande in Genf und das Tonhalleorchester in Zürich. Viele Schweizer Städte verfügen über eigene Opernbühnen. Die Opernhäuser von Zürich und Genf geniessen einen Ruf weit über die Landesgrenzen hinaus.

Die Paul Sacher Stiftung in Basel betreut zahlreiche Nachlässe von bedeutenden Komponisten und Interpreten und betreibt ein internationales Forschungszentrum für die Musik des 20. und 21. Jahrhundert. Im Rahmen von zwei namhaften Wettbewerben werden ausserdem Interpreten der klassischen Musik ausgezeichnet. Es sind dies der Concours de Genève und der Concours Géza Anda in Zürich.

Rock, Pop, Jazz, Electro, Hip-hop

Zahlreiche Schweizer Künstler sind auch international bekannt geworden und haben Schweizer Musikgeschichte geschrieben – Namen wie Mani Matter (1936–1972), dessen berndeutsche Lieder mehrere Generationen geprägt haben, oder das Zürcher Duo Yello an der Spitze der Electro-Szene in 1980er Jahren. Die Lausanner Gruppe Sens Unik hat sich als Pionier der frankophonen Hip-Hop-Bewegung einen Namen gemacht und der Basler George Gruntz (1932–2013) gilt als einer der wichtigsten Jazzmusiker der letzten Jahrzehnte.

Unter den derzeit aktiven Musikern und Gruppen mit beachtlichen Erfolgen im In- und Ausland sind Stephan Eicher, Gotthard, Krokus, Michael von der Heide, Andreas Vollenweider, DJ Bobo, DJ Antoine, Erik Truffaz, Stress, Heidi Happy, Sophie Hunger oder Bastian Baker zu nennen.

Jedes Jahr im März werden die jeweils erfolgreichsten Musiker mit den Swiss Music Awards ausgezeichnet.

Weiterführende Informationen