Painting and object art

Some of the most influential members of the Romantic and Bauhaus movements were Swiss. Swiss artists were also at the forefront of the Concrete Art movement.

Nanas by Niki de Saint Phalle at the Leineufer in Hanover
Niki de Saint Phalle's "Nanas", Hanover © Jürgen Götzke

Romanticism, which emerged during the 18th century, is one of the most important eras in Switzerland’s art history. Exponents like Caspar Wolf, Johann Heinrich Füssli, François Diday and Alexandre Calame celebrated the beauty of nature in its wild and primitive state. The symbolist mountain landscapes of Arnold Böcklin and Ferdinand Hodler, or the naturalist depictions of peasant life by Albert Anker brought a new dimension to traditional Romantic art.

At the end of the 18th century, the Winterthur artist Anton Graff was one of the most sought-after and influential portrait painters in the German-speaking world. So much so, he was asked by the royal House of Saxony in Dresden to become its official court painter. Graff and his fellow countryman, Adrian Zingg, a painter and copper engraver, drew inspiration for their work from “Saxon Switzerland”. In doing so, they became the founding fathers of the Romantic landscape painting movement in Germany.

At the end of the 19th century, Swiss art began to diverge in different directions, though it continued to focus on landscape painting, as evidenced by the works of Giovanni Giacometti, Paul Klee, Cuno Amiet and Felix Valloton.

In 1916, the avant-garde movement “Dada” was born in Zurich. At the heart was the Cabaret Voltaire and a group of artists that included Hugo Ball, Emmy Hennig, Hans Arp, Sophie Taeuber-Arp and Tristan Tzara. Founded in reaction to the horrors of the First World War, the movement paved the way for the Bauhaus school, which heavily influenced the work of Johannes Itten and Paul Klee.

In the 1940s, Zurich once again provided the backdrop for an emerging new movement, concrete art, which was promoted and developed by local artist Max Bill. In the post-war years, several Swiss artists enjoyed international renown, such as the Hyperrealist Franz Gertsch, the abstract artist Rolf Iseli, the Surrealist artist Meret Oppenheim, the lithographer Hans Erni, as well as performance and object artists like Dieter Roth and Daniel Spörri.

A new generation of Swiss artists began to emerge towards the end the 20th century, such as John Armleder, Sylvie Fleury, Peter Fischli & David Weiss, Roman Signer, Pipilotti Rist and Thomas Hirschhorn. Rather than devoting themselves to the traditional paint-on-canvas approach, they use multimedia and a range of forms, including collages and found objects, in their work.

Malerei und Objektkunst

Schweizer Maler haben in der Romantik und in der Bauhaus-Epoche ihre Spuren hinterlassen. Schweizer Maler gehörten auch zu den Wegbereitern der Bewegung für konkrete Kunst.

«Nanas» von Niki de Saint Phalle am Leineufer in Hannover
«Nanas» von Niki de Saint Phalle, Hannover. © Jürgen Götzke

Die im Laufe des 18. Jahrhunderts in Erscheinung getretene Romantik ist eine der bedeutendsten Kunstrichtungen der Schweizer Malerei. Künstler wie Caspar Wolf, Johann Heinrich Füssli, François Diday oder Alexandre Calame rücken in ihren Gemälden die Schönheit der Natur in ihrer ursprünglichen Wildheit in den Vordergrund. Die symbolträchtigen Berglandschaften eines Arnold Böcklin oder eines Ferdinand Hodler oder die naturalistische Darstellung bäuerlichen Lebens eines Albert Anker haben ihren Ursprung ebenfalls in der Romantik, weisen aber bereits auf neue Tendenzen hin.

Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts war der Winterthurer Anton Graff, vom sächsischen Hof nach Dresden berufen, einer der begehrtesten und einflussreichsten Porträtmaler im deutschsprachigen Raum. Er und sein Landsmann Adrian Zingg, ein Maler und Kupferstecher, entdeckten die «sächsische Schweiz» als Motiv für ihre künstlerische Arbeit und begründeten damit die romantische Naturauffassung in Deutschland.

Ab dem Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts schlägt die Schweizer Malerei verschiedene Wege ein, bewahrt aber ihre Vorliebe für die Landschaft, wofür insbesondere die Werke von Malern wie Giovanni Giacometti, Paul Klee, Cuno Amiet und Felix Valloton stehen.

1916 wurde in Zürich als Antwort auf die Schrecken des I. Weltkriegs die avantgardistische Bewegung «Dada» gegründet. Sie bildete den Rahmen für das Cabaret Voltaire mit den Künstlern Hugo Ball, Emmy Hennig, Hans Arp, Sophie Taeuber-Arp und Tristan Tzara. Die «Dada»-Bewegung war eine Wegbereiterin für den Bauhaus-Stil, der sich in den Werken von Johannes Itten und Paul Klee deutlich vergegenwärtigt hat.

In den Jahren nach 1940 entfaltete sich in Zürich um den Künstler Max Bill die konkrete Kunst. Nach Ende des II. Weltkriegs gelangten Schweizer Maler wie der Hyperrealist Franz Gertsch, der abstrakt malende Rolf Iseli, die Surrealistin Meret Oppenheim, der Lithograph Hans Erni oder Aktions- und Objektkünstler wie Dieter Roth und Daniel Spörri zu internationalem Ruhm.

Am Ende des 20. Jahrhunderts trat in der Schweiz eine neue Künstlergeneration hervor. Hier sind Namen zu nennen wie John Armleder, Sylvie Fleury, Peter Fischli & David Weiss, Roman Signer, Pipilotti Rist oder Thomas Hirschhorn. Sie entfernten sich von der reinen Malerei zugunsten von Video, Collagen und Objektkunst.