Film

The Swiss film industry is primarily known for its documentaries. However, in the last few years a number of feature films have enjoyed considerable success, such as Heidi, Mein Name ist Eugen and Sister.

Two young people standing next to a country road
The film “Sister” by the director Ursula Meier, released in 2012. © EDA, Präsenz Schweiz

Swiss cinematic output is characterised by its strong emphasis on a descriptive and often critical take on life in Switzerland. Twentieth century film-making in Switzerland can be classified into four key periods: Swiss-German silent films (1915–1919), Swiss-French silent films (1919–1924), classic inter- and post-war films (1930–1964) and contemporary output (since 1964). 

In the 1960s, Switzerland saw the arrival of ’New Swiss Cinema’, which emerged at the same time as the French New Wave movement. It heralded a break with previous cinematic tradition by establishing a new and more reality-driven aesthetic. The leading exponents were the Swiss-French filmmakers Alain Tanner, Claude Goretta and Michel Soutter. 

A number of feature films have enjoyed international renown, including Les petites fugues (The Wild Oats) by Yves Yersin (1979), Die Schweizermacher  (The Swissmakers) by Rolf Lyssy (1978) and Höhenfeuer  (Alpine Heights) by Fredi M. Murer (1985). Xavier Koller’s Film Reise der Hoffnung (Journey of Hope) won the Oscar for Best Foreign Film in 1991. 

In the field of documentary film, War Photographer (2002) by Christian Frei was nominated for an Oscar, and Markus Imhoof’s More Than Honey (2012) received a number of awards in different countries, as well as being selected as the best Swiss documentary film of all time. Other successful Swiss films that have sold 500,000 tickets at the box office include Grounding (2006), which documents the final days of the Swiss airline, Swissair, and Mein Name ist Eugen (2005). Jean-Stéphane Bron also came to international attention with his films Mais im Bundeshuus (2003) and L’Experience Blocher (2013), as did Ursula Meier with Home (2008) and Sister (2012) and Xavier Koller with Die schwarzen Brüder (2013). Alain Gsponser’s latest remake of the children’s classic Heidi (2015) has become Switzerland’s most successful feature film at home and abroad. 

The Swiss film industry receives public financial support (primarily from the Confederation and the cantons), the Swiss Broadcasting Corporation SRG-SSR, foundations, firms and private donors. Swiss Films is the agency in charge of promoting Swiss films and supporting their international distribution. Since 1998 the Confederation annually holds the Swiss Film Awards. Switzerland also hosts a number of film festivals, including the Locarno International Film Festival, the documentary film festival, Visions du Réel, in Nyon, the Solothurn Film Festival, the Neuchâtel International Fantastic Film Festival, as well as the Zurich Film Festival, which was launched in 2005.

Kino

Das Schweizer Filmschaffen tut sich in erster Linie mit seinen Dokumentarfilmen hervor. Auch mehrere Spielfilme hatten in den vergangenen Jahren in der Schweiz grossen Erfolg. Zu nennen sind da etwa Heidi, Mein Name ist Eugen oder Sister .

Zwei junge Menschen stehen an einer Landstrasse
Spielfilm Sister (dt: Winterdieb) der Regisseurin Ursula Meier aus dem Jahr 2012. © EDA, Präsenz Schweiz

Das Typische am Schweizer Film ist seine starke Betonung des beschreibenden, oft kritischen Blicks auf das Leben in der Schweiz. Das Filmschaffen des 20. Jahrhunderts kann in vier grosse Epochen eingeteilt werden: Die Deutschschweizer Stummfilme (1915–1919), die welschen Stummfilme (1919–1924), die klassischen Filme in der Zwischen- und Nachkriegszeit (1930–1964) sowie die zeitgenössischen Filme (ab 1964).

In den 1960er Jahren entwickelte sich in der Schweiz gleichzeitig mit der Nouvelle vague in Frankreich eine Bewegung mit Namen «Neuer Schweizer Film». Sie brach mit der künstlerischen Tradition und etablierte eine neue, stärker an der Realität orientierte Ästhetik. An der Spitze dieser Bewegung standen die welschen Filmemacher Alain Tanner, Claude Goretta und Michel Soutter.

Mehrere Spielfilme fanden internationale Beachtung, etwa «Les petites fugues» von Yves Yersin (1979), «Die Schweizermacher» von Rolf Lyssy (1978) und «Höhenfeuer» von Fredi M. Murer (1985). Xavier Kollers Film «Reise der Hoffnung» wurde 1991 mit dem Oscar für den besten ausländischen Film ausgezeichnet.

Im Bereich Dokumentarfilme wurde War Photographer (2002) von Christian Frei für den Oscar nominiert, ferner erhielt Markus Imhoof mit More than Honey(2012) Auszeichungen in mehreren Ländern und wurde zum besten Schweizer Dokumentarfilm aller Zeiten erkoren.  Zu den Schweizer Erfolgsfilmen gehören ausserdem Grounding (2006) über die letzten Tage der Schweizer Luftverkehrsgesellschaft Swissair und Mein Name ist Eugen (2005) mit 500’000 Eintritten. Internationale Beachtung fand auch Jean-Stéphane Bron mit den Filmen Mais im Bundeshuus (2003) und L’Experience Blocher (2013), Ursula Meier mit den Filmen Home (2008) und Sister (2012) sowie einmal mehr Xavier Koller mit dem Film Die schwarzen Brüder (2013). Die Neuverfilmung des Kinderbuchklassikers Heidi (2015) von Alain Gsponer entwickelt sich zum national und international erfolgreichsten Spielfilm. 

Der Schweizer Film wird finanziell unterstützt von der öffentlichen Hand (zur Hauptsache Bund und Kantone), von der Schweizerischen Radio- und Fernsehgesellschaft SRG-SSR, von Stiftungen, Firmen und Privatpersonen. Die Organisation Swiss Films ist mit der Förderung des Schweizer Films und dessen internationalem Verleih beauftragt. Seit 1998 wird vom Bund jährlich der Schweizer Filmpreis verliehen. In der Schweiz gibt es mehrere Filmfestivals: das internationale Filmfestival von Locarno, das Dokumentarfilm-Festival Visions du Réel in Nyon, die Solothurner Filmtage, in Neuenburg das Festival des phantastischen Films und seit 2005 das Zurich Film Festival.