Sculpture

Switzerland’s most famous sculptors are Alberto Giacometti and Jean Tinguely.

The Jo Siffert fountain by Jean Tinguely
The Siffert fountain by Jean Tinguely © Swiss Image / Hans-Peter Siffert

The most internationally renowned and illustrious Swiss sculptor is the artist Alberto Giacometti from Graubünden. His elongated human figures, inspired by Surrealism and Existentialism, can be found in museums all over the world. The Kunsthaus Zurich houses the largest collection of his work.

Jean Tinguely was the leading proponent of kinetic art in Switzerland, which involved building moving sculptures from pieces of scrap metal and machinery. One of his major works is a fountain dedicated to the Formula I driver Jo Siffert, which still stands in a downtown park in the city of Fribourg. Other examples of kinetic art are the mobile metal sculptures by Walter Linck and the iron colossus by Bernhard Luginbühl.

Jean Tinguely’s French wife, Niki de Saint Phalle, also made a name for herself with her giant, brightly coloured and voluptuously proportioned women (“Nanas”). One of these sculptures hangs in the main hall of Zurich central station. The Gothic sculptures by the artist H.R. Giger featured in the film “Alien”.

Bildhauerei

Die bekanntesten Bildhauer der Schweiz sind Alberto Giacometti und Jean Tinguely.

Jo-Siffert-Brunnen von Jean Tinguely
Jo-Siffert-Brunnen – Jean Tinguely. © Swiss Image / Hans-Peter Siffert

Der international bekannteste Schweizer Bildhauer ist der Bündner Künstler Alberto Giacometti. Seine langgliedrigen, vom Surrealismus und Existentialismus inspirierten Menschenfiguren sind in Museen überall auf der Welt zu sehen. Über die bedeutendste Giacometti-Sammlung verfügt das Kunsthaus Zürich.

Eine weitere Richtung der Bildhauerei vertrat Jean Tinguely mit seinen kinetischen Maschinen aus Metallbauteilen. Eines seiner wichtigsten, dem Formel-I-Rennfahrer Jo Siffert gewidmeten Werke befindet sich in einem Park der Stadt Freiburg. Der gleichen Stilrichtung gehören auch die mobilen Figuren aus Metall von Walter Linck und die Eisenkolosse von Bernhard Luginbühl an.

Jean Tinguelys Ehefrau, die Französin Niki de Saint Phalle, machte sich ihrerseits einen Namen mit ihren riesigen, üppigen Frauenfiguren in bunten Farben. Eine von ihnen ziert die Decke der grossen Halle des Hauptbahnhofs Zürich. Die gotischen Figuren des Bündner Künstlers H.R. Giger sind im Film «Alien» zu sehen.