Architecture

Switzerland is a fertile breeding ground for architects, producing some of the most acclaimed names in the field, such as Le Corbusier, Mario Botta and Herzog & de Meuron.

The outside pool of the Vals Thermal Baths
The Vals thermal baths (Canton of Graubünden), external bath in the steam. © Thermes de Vals, M. Spiluttini

In spite of its small size, Switzerland has produced a considerable number of world-renowned architects. The most famous is Le Corbusier, who was born in La-Chaux-de-Fonds in 1887. He was a pioneer of modern architecture and made it his life’s work to design functional dwellings in urban spaces. His best-known works are the United Nations Headquarters in New York, the Cité Radieuse in Marseille, and the Indian town of Chandigarh, which was almost entirely designed by the Swiss architect. Examples of his work can also be found in Switzerland, such as the Clarté building in Geneva, the Villa Le Lac in Corseaux, the Maison blanche in La-Chaux-de-Fonds and the Corbusier Centre in Zurich.

The post-war years saw the emergence of the “Zurich Group”, whose members were alumni of the School of Architecture at the Federal Institute of Technology Zurich (ETHZ). They included Werner Frey, Jacques Schader, Jakob Zweifel and Franz Füeg, whose designs include the Pius Church in Meggen (canton of Lucerne) and the Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne (EPFL).

In recent years, it is the work of Mario Botta, Jacques Herzog and Pierre de Meuron, Peter Zumthor and Bernard Tschumi that has captured the imagination of people around the world. Mario Botta is behind the breathtaking Alpe Foppa chapel (canton of Ticino) and the Museum of Modern Art in San Francisco. Herzog & de Meuron designed the Tate Modern in London, the Olympic stadium in Beijing and the Roche Tower in Basel. Peter Zumthor is behind the Thermal Baths in Vals (canton of Graubünden), while Bernard Tschumi designed the Acropolis Museum in Athens.

Architektur

Die Schweiz ist ein fruchtbarer Boden für Architektur. Le Corbusier, Mario Botta oder Herzog & de Meuron gehören zu den meistbeachteten Architekten des Landes.

Das Aussenbad der Therme Vals
Therme Vals (Graubünden), das Aussenbad im Dunst. © Therme Vals, M. Spiluttini

Trotz ihrer geringen Grösse hat die Schweiz eine beachtliche Zahl Architekten mit Weltruhm hervorgebracht. Der bekannteste ist Le Corbusier, geboren in La-Chaux-de-Fonds im Jahr 1887. Er war ein Pionier der modernen Architektur und machte sich zur Aufgabe, funktionale Häuser für den städtischen Raum zu entwerfen. Seine bedeutendsten Bauwerke sind der Sitz der Vereinten Nationen in New York, die Cité Radieuse in Marseille und nahezu die gesamte indische Stadt Chandigarh. Auch in der Schweiz sind einige seiner Werke zu bewundern: beispielsweise das Clarté-Gebäude in Genf, die Villa Le Lac in Corseaux, la Maison blanche in La-Chaux-de-Fonds oder das Corbusier-Zentrum in Zürich.

In der Nachkriegszeit entstand die «Zürcher Gruppe», in welcher sich verschiedene Architekten der ETH Zürich zusammenschlossen; unter anderen etwa Werner Frey, Jacques Schader, Jakob Zweifel und Franz Füeg. Auf ihrer Werkliste stehen die Pius-Kirche in Meggen (Kanton Luzern) oder die Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule in Lausanne.

In den letzten Jahren haben Arbeiten von Mario Botta, Jacques Herzog und Pierre de Meuron, Peter Zumthor und Bernard Tschumi im In- und Ausland auf sich aufmerksam gemacht. Mario Botta ist der Schöpfer der atemberaubenden Kapelle auf der Alpe Foppa (Kanton Tessin) und des Museums für moderne Kunst in San Francisco. Herzog & de Meuron haben die Tate Modern in London entworfen, ebenso das Olympia-Stadion in Beijing und in der Schweiz das Roche-Gebäude in Basel. Peter Zumthor steht hinter dem Thermalbad von Vals (Kanton Graubünden). Und Bernard Tschumi schliesslich hat das Akropolis-Museum in Athen entworfen.